Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I love this soup. I too put it in the blender and that worked well. I made it exactly like the recipe said and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe took me by surprise. I have been cooking for over 60 years and I made this and coudn't stop eating it. It was wonderful. A suggestion for others is to use a hand blender toget reid of the chunks of onion, but I liked the chuncks. The hand blender is easy to use and does a good job
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I followed the recipe and this tastes like warm tomato puree. It was very thick. I thinned it with a cup of chicken broth. Perhaps will be be better today? Not a winner in my book...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This soup is great with or without the spinach. Just don't leave out the "Fresh Basil" I also minced the onions, and pureed the soup before adding the spinach. I will be making this recipe over and over. You don't need all that heavy cream to make a delicious soup, and this recipe proves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
delicious! i liked that it was still a nice hearty soup! i made the tomato puree from scratch (mostly just peeled, seeded and blended up 6-7 tomatoes) and added more garlic ( a small bulb of local garlic). the garlic was not too overpowering it was sweet and tasty. also i added 1 teapoon of sugar instead of a tablespoon. added a mixture of fresh and dried basil since basil isn't really in season right now. i served with a french baguette my boyfriend and i loved it :) nice hearty soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegecook
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I'm not big on anything with tomato sauce, paste, puree, etc; but this was surprisingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Delicious! I love the texture and flavor of the onions in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I thought this was ok, I wish it was a little more tomato flavored. I blended it all to make a more creamy texture overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Really good. I don't do dairy so I used Rice Milk, didn't include the sugar (don't like sweet soups). I also used tomato paste because that was all I had. I did have to add Organic Free Range chicken broth because it was so thick, probably about a cup, or so. I blended before the spinach and spices, and added croutons (but don't need them). I'm thinking of using 1/2 an onion and a little more garlic next time. It was really good and a great winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
You have to add milk last... never boil any cream in a soup like this. That is why it has curdled on some people. After everything has cooked down...onions, spinach, spices then add milk and stir in off heat. Not sure how it keeps in fridge for a month with the milk as an ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States