Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I took the reviews to heart and didn't add the milk until the heat was off and it was hot & ready to serve, and it was creamy & perfect. Also I bumped up the spice level a notch by sauteeing a dried chili, extra garlic, some coriander seeds and cumin seeds in with the onions. I also topped with chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves and got lots of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I added the milk last and I found that it was as quick and simple as the directions stated. I also pureed before serving it--so I did not have to worry about any onion chunks. It tasted great! My wife loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
pretty good stuff, much better than the canned variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very filling, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Very Good and super easy to make. My husband hates tomatoes, but liked the soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Excellent, healthy and satisfying soup. Easy to make and great with J.P's Big Daddy Biscuits! I made exactly as written. Only difference was I let the soup simmer about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donnamosk

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I made this soup, in a vegan version, by substituting vegan friendly ingredients, and I am utterly addicted. This freezes well too so I have weeks wirth of hot creamy soup available. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I pretty much made this soup exactly to the directions. I doubled the recipe to make more. Only thing I did different was when I doubled it, I used one can of tomato puree and 1 can of crushed tomatos. I like my soup hearty. However, I did not double the milk when I doubled the serving. I did what other reviews said and added the milk AFTER it was done. This is the best tomato soup ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Port Charlotte, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was very good. The kids didn't even figure out that was spinach in there and they all loved it! I just preempted the question by telling them it was packed with basil, which was no lie. I served with grilled cheese. I doubled the recipe and used a 10 ounce pack of frozen chopped spinach which I thawed but did not drain. The soup was pretty thick, so I thinned it out a bit with water. Don't skip the grated parmesan topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Gaborone, South-East, Botswana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States