Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband and I fixed this tonight together, along with the grilled cheese, basil, and tomato sandwich on this site. Very good! We skipped the onions altogether, used soy milk (dairy allergy), and my hubby added crushed red pepper to his, to make it his "5". (Otherwise, without the red pepper, he said it would be a "4".) The tomato adds a touch of sweetness and the pepper adds heat. Timewise, this was a quick meal. It took about the same amount of time as the menu said it would. When we were all done, my Campbell's hubby added "we can fix this again any time!" so it may become a staple in our kitchen... Oooh, by the way, hubby suggested after our meal that we add sausage and hamburger meat and use this the next time we make spaghetti sauce! Thanks Dakota...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a pretty good base soup. But I had to add plenty of extra seasoning to get the flavor I was looking for. I decided to add italian sausage to give it more substance and that improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very easy and very good. I made a couple of substitutions (only cause I had ingredients) - shallots for onions and heavy cream (there goes healthy) for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I have never given a bad review before, but unfortunately the time has come. After i completed the recipe i tasted it, and it was so bland and overpowered by the tomato puree that i had to add another tablespoon of garlic, some cayenne pepper, red pepper flakes, a LOT more salt and peeper and more garlic. After the monstrous addition the soup was still bland and near tasteless. I would not recommend this soup, nor would i recommend this as a soup base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This soup was fantastic! I loved it. I used a few handfuls of fresh baby spinach and used the mandoline to finely chop the onion. Next time I will use a little less sugar, it was a little sweet. But superb! I also baked a refrigerated pizza crust and melted 1 cup mozz cheese on top and sliced into "dippers." PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
made a great soup. I tweaked it a little by processing the completed soup to make it a little smoother and I added a little more milk to help make it more soup like than stew. I love the flavor of the spinach and the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
A very healthy soup that just needs a bit more of a bite to satisfy the taste buds of my family. I took my hand bender to the soup before adding the spinach to give it a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
very easy to make yet very tasty. loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Very good. I should have sauteed the onions longer...they were still a little crunchy. I used frozen spinach because I had it on hand, and added fresh oregano and thyme from my garden. Even with being 9 weeks pregnant, it tasted good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this for a starter with a family meal and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Burgess Hill, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States