Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I really liked this soup, except it was a little too thick. Adding a cup of chicken broth took care of that. The fresh basil is of major importance, as is fresh spinach. Next time, I will use only half the sugar and I'll add some grated Swiss cheese, as one of my favorite restaurants does. My hubby needed to add some hot pepper flakes. I'm making this for company next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hotchie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
LOVE IT! So easy to make great taste. The only thing I added was a can of diced tomatoes beacuse I like it chunky. I've made it twice and am making it again today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Unfortunately, this soup was a bust for me. The end result tasted like ketchup with a thick, overpowering flavor of onion. The consistency was far too chunky and thick, even after adding milk, blending the soup, and adding water. After much improvisation and addition of lots of black pepper, it was just edible at best :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rima

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I like thick soups, but this was a bit much. It had the consistency of a tomato sauce. I used twice as much milk as what the recipe called for; however, it never seemed to get more soup-like. The taste was okay, nothing fabulous. It was very easy to make, but I doubt I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Bodal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Actually surprising. I am giving this an average rating as it was good but nothing great. just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I added a bit of garlic salt and cooked everything a little longer than the recipe stated. My family loved this soup, it does not taste low calorie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Really nothing special. Wont be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wonderful soup! I cooked the onion and garlic for about 10 minutes, until very soft. I also used a stick hand blender and blended the soup prior to adding the spinach and basil to make it very smooth and creamy. It turned out wonderful. I paired it with garlic parmesan french bread. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Overall a good soup! Like other reviewers I had issues with the onion, which is odd for me because I usually love it in any form. The flavor of the diced onion in this recipe is strong and the texture was a bit odd. I ended up running the whole soup through the blender to really mince the onion well, that helped a lot. This soup is quick, easy, healthy and flavorful. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
It was Ok but lacked the flavor sensation I was expecting. Some hot pepper flakes or using roasted tomatoes instead of crushed canned tomatoes would give this recipe more of an edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States