Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Actually surprising. I am giving this an average rating as it was good but nothing great. just different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I added a bit of garlic salt and cooked everything a little longer than the recipe stated. My family loved this soup, it does not taste low calorie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Really nothing special. Wont be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Wonderful soup! I cooked the onion and garlic for about 10 minutes, until very soft. I also used a stick hand blender and blended the soup prior to adding the spinach and basil to make it very smooth and creamy. It turned out wonderful. I paired it with garlic parmesan french bread. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Overall a good soup! Like other reviewers I had issues with the onion, which is odd for me because I usually love it in any form. The flavor of the diced onion in this recipe is strong and the texture was a bit odd. I ended up running the whole soup through the blender to really mince the onion well, that helped a lot. This soup is quick, easy, healthy and flavorful. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
It was Ok but lacked the flavor sensation I was expecting. Some hot pepper flakes or using roasted tomatoes instead of crushed canned tomatoes would give this recipe more of an edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Great flavor! I didn't have any tomato sauce, and so I used diced canned tomatoes, and although it was a totally different consistency than the recipe would be, it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
My husband and I fixed this tonight together, along with the grilled cheese, basil, and tomato sandwich on this site. Very good! We skipped the onions altogether, used soy milk (dairy allergy), and my hubby added crushed red pepper to his, to make it his "5". (Otherwise, without the red pepper, he said it would be a "4".) The tomato adds a touch of sweetness and the pepper adds heat. Timewise, this was a quick meal. It took about the same amount of time as the menu said it would. When we were all done, my Campbell's hubby added "we can fix this again any time!" so it may become a staple in our kitchen... Oooh, by the way, hubby suggested after our meal that we add sausage and hamburger meat and use this the next time we make spaghetti sauce! Thanks Dakota...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This is a pretty good base soup. But I had to add plenty of extra seasoning to get the flavor I was looking for. I decided to add italian sausage to give it more substance and that improved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Very easy and very good. I made a couple of substitutions (only cause I had ingredients) - shallots for onions and heavy cream (there goes healthy) for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States