Tomato Spinach and Basil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by alaskarick
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Just made it tonight. It was so simple quick and so good. We like spinach so we doubled the spinach. We also added one pound of shrimp to the soup. Fabulous dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
I made 2 substitutions in order to make this non dairy. I subbed olive oil for the butter in sauteeing the onions and garlic and almond milk (plain) for the regular milk. The soup came together very quickly and was delicious. I served it to dinner guests and got rave reviews. I had just hand chopped the onions and commented to my guests that next time I might use the processor to make them more fine and was told in no uncertain terms NOT to do that, as the chopped onion texture added to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I added some additional pureed tomatoes to bring back the redness and 2 cups of chicken broth to help thin it out a bit and give it more of a soup rather than spaghetti sauce consistency and flavor. Very enjoyable with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
4 stars for taste and 5 for ease to cook so a 4.5 overall. I added the milk at the end as suggested! I added 3 handfuls of baby spinach and used 1/8 tsp of garlic powder since I forgot to buy garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did not add spinach, and I replaced the basil with two tablespoons of lovage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Great recipe! I've made it 4 times. This last time enough for 12. I used 28ozs. of diced petite tomatoes since I was short on the tomato puree. I also took the time to purée it in my blender. Fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Substitute sugar with finely chopped carrots cooked along with the onions. The cream is added later than what the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I used fresh tomatoes because I had them and they needed to be used. I used skim milk, so I added 1/3 cup heavy cream at the very end. This was so delicious, my husband proclaimed it "magnificent!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
I made this and loved it. My only modification was to replace the milk with equal parts of FF chicken broth...as good as I've had out !, definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make. However I did make a couple of changes as I am trying to stay away from processed foods as much as possible. I replaced whole milk with coconut milk and pureed 8 fresh tomatoes, simmering them for fourty minutes before adding the basil and spinach. An additional teaspoon of sugar was necessary. The end result was a very fresh, flavorful soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States