Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Recipe is a good starter. As is, is bland. I seasoned to taste as follows: added onion & garlic powder; fresh lemon juice & zest (whole lemon), 1/4C red & white wine; sauteed other veggies-eggplant, red & green peppers, leeks & red pepper flakes. Also added appx 1/4C heavy cream, feta & cream cheese to taste because I love! After additions, soup's divine! I just threw all ingredients into pot quickly, bro't to a boil, simmered & processed. Next time I'll take time & roast tomatoes & other veggies 1st.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious! Just a couple tweaks: I left out the worchestshire per other reviews and omitted hot sauce since I wanted my kids to eat it (let my husband add that to his own after). I added some diced red pepper for a little sweetness and extra healthfulness. I also pureed and added some cream to creamy it up after. YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Big hit! Added a pinch of sugar and a few more spices. A litle bit of milk at the end....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I served this for our weekly "Meatless Monday" along with grilled cheese sandwiches and a green salad. Even our teen that doesn't like tomato soup had 3 bowls (I had adjusted the recipe for 10 servings). I did tweak this recipe a bit. My basil plant is looking sad, so I added about 2 TBS fresh pesto. Instead of simmering on the stove top, I put everything into the crock pot on high for about an hour and added fat free 1/2 and 1/2 at the end. I left out the Worcestershire because we didn't have any vegetarian and no hot pepper sauce as my hubby doesn't do spicy. I added veggie broth to the veggies after sauteing and simmered them a bit and ran that mixture through the blender. I put the tomatoes in the blender too, but left some chunks. I boiled up some fun shapped pasta for the kids to add in if they wanted. There is not a drop of this soup left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Awesome soup! I don't remember the last time I was going back and forth between kitchen and living room until the soup was finished. It is just excellent. I used less onion though, no celery, added some chili sauce and meat balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This is terrible....I gagged on the first bite. The ingredients it called for didn't blend at all....total waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Very yummy! Vegetarian worstershire is very hard to find however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Clovis, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Simple and delicious. A classic tomato soup. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and regular worcestershire and pureed the soup at the end with an immersion blender. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Kelliher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I didn't have any vegetable stock so I used water and added a teaspoon of vegemite. I also pureed it, then served it with a dollop of sour cream. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was not very good... it tastes like thin tomato sauce. I had to add an extra carrot and two potatoes just to cut the acidity, but it still didn't work. I pureed it so that the carrots and potatoes wouldn't be chunky. I refuse to waste food, so I am eating it anyway, but only with a large dallop of sour cream and deep hunger pangs that make me so desperate for food that I'd eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States