Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
So yum! Made a huge batch of this and some cheddar biscuits and having been enjoying it a lot these past few nights. The amount of pepper might be a bit spicy for some. Just play with the spices and get it how you want it. I also added some oregano, then white sugar to balance out the saltiness. Turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love tomato soup, but can no longer tolerate the sweetness and often chemical taste of canned soups. This recipe is what I have been looking for. My only tweaks were to reduce hot sauce by 1/2, add 1/2 tsp more salt, and add 3/4 tsp sugar (to eliminate the tang/sourness). With tweaks, definitely 5 stars. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delish!! but had to make some changes, I sauteed celery carrots onion and garlic first. Deglazed with 1/4 cup red wine. Then pureed in blender. I added pureed mix to dutch oven with 2 cans crushed tomato, broth, 1 tsp. not TBSP worcestershire, hot sauce, salt and pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 cup cream. AMAZING!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, stewed tomatoes because that's what I had, omitted the Worcestershire, added a tsp. or so of chicken boullion and pureed the whole thing before simmering. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
One addition just to cut the strong tomato tartness was a bit of sugar or brown sugar. Just a little at a time to your liking will mellow the tartness. I would recommend running the sauteed veggies through a processor also just to keep the pieces very small. Overall very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sadi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
My husband really loved this and I didn't like it quite as much. I only put in half the salt, but it was still too salty for me. It was also a bit heavy on the Worcestershire sauce. I would make it again, but I would put in half the Worcestershire sauce and maybe just 1/4 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I added 1/2 a sweet pepper to the mix of vegetables and blended it all together after cooking, like a couple of the other reviewers. It was fabulous! This was my first attempt at making tomato soup and I will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
OK. this was not what I wanted, I wanted a smooth tomato soup so even after pureeing, didn't give me what I wanted, but the flavour....yum, yum! Still a delicious soup, on day two I added a half cup of wild rice blend with barley and stuff and it was even better! I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Yum!!!! Sitting here having my 1st bowl of this fab rich hearty soup. Just the recipe I have being looking for. Trying o be good and keep things low fat so I just used a cooking spray instead of the oil and next time I might try basil instead of a few chili flakes to replace the hot sauce I didn't have. Colour and texture are fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Weekend Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States