Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As a tomato soup lover....I thought this soup was disgusting. Not much flavor. Had to add more salt and pepper and parsley and bit of cream just to eat it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Delicious. Easy to make. I made this for a church supper -- I heard lots yummy noises and some people asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
LOW SODIUM VERSION I made this soup today and it was delicious!! As most people do I made some changes to cut down on the sodium to make a reduced sodium version. I sauted some carrot, celery, onion and cucumber in olive oil with garlic and worchestshire.Then I added no salt chicken stock and with my hand blender blizted til smooth. Then I added a can of italian plum tomatoes (Gigi brand) and blitzed. These tomatoes only contain natural salt no added salt. I let this simmer for an hour. I did also add a dash of sugar to help with the acidity. This soup was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpsmom
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
DEE-licious! I omitted the worchestire sauce though, due to my own personal taste. Also, pureed for just one quick whirl and the soup turned out smooth-chunky, just the way I love my soup. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I made this soup in a dinner for mother's day, and everyone loved it! I followed the recipe exactly like mentioned, but i blended it at the end to get a softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
So yum! Made a huge batch of this and some cheddar biscuits and having been enjoying it a lot these past few nights. The amount of pepper might be a bit spicy for some. Just play with the spices and get it how you want it. I also added some oregano, then white sugar to balance out the saltiness. Turned out perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love tomato soup, but can no longer tolerate the sweetness and often chemical taste of canned soups. This recipe is what I have been looking for. My only tweaks were to reduce hot sauce by 1/2, add 1/2 tsp more salt, and add 3/4 tsp sugar (to eliminate the tang/sourness). With tweaks, definitely 5 stars. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Delish!! but had to make some changes, I sauteed celery carrots onion and garlic first. Deglazed with 1/4 cup red wine. Then pureed in blender. I added pureed mix to dutch oven with 2 cans crushed tomato, broth, 1 tsp. not TBSP worcestershire, hot sauce, salt and pepper, 1 tsp basil, 1 bay leaf, 1/4 cup cream. AMAZING!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Very good. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, stewed tomatoes because that's what I had, omitted the Worcestershire, added a tsp. or so of chicken boullion and pureed the whole thing before simmering. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States