Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Loved this recipe! Very quick and easy to make and quite filling. I added bell pepper to the vegetables that are sauteed (which I had diced up quite small), used rosemary for one of the seasonings, added just a splash of cream, and had to use onion powder since I didn't realize that I was out of onions. I did not use any of the other seasonings listed except a pinch of salt. Also, I used only one of the 28 ounce cans of tomato (I used diced) and then added one large fresh tomato, pureed to the sauteed vegetable. Threw in the last bit of spinach I had just to go ahead and use it. These are a lot of changes but I think it shows how versatile the soup can be if you stick with the base ingredients. I will definitely make this again and would consider using this as a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieSuzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Phynn
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe and I will make it again! I made a couple of changes: fresh tomatoes, diced red peppers instead of celery, a few sloshes of red wine instead of W'shire sauce, and I added about a cup of soy milk at the very end after I pureed the soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I have been making this soup weekly for 6 months. We love it. I use fresh tomatoes, same weight amount, diced and added with the celery and carrots. We love it chunky or blended. We eat it plain or add meat, vegetables, beans or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
4.5 stars. I did change a few things i.e., fresh tomatoes vs canned, 1/2C of carrot & celery, used my own chicken stock and left out the worcestershire and hot sauce. I added a few additonal herbs (parsley/rosemary). I did saute the carrot/celery/onion in olive oil. I had approx 8 cups of cleaned/chunked up of my own grown tomatoes. After everything simmered for awhile in a large pot, I used my stick blender & went to town on it. Because I like my soup smooth, I then utilized a fine mesh strainer to get rid of excess pulp/seed/skins, etc. I used roasted garlic vs raw & instead of salt I used 1/2 tsp Mortons 'natures seasoning'. Yes, I spent more time by doing things this way but it was fantastic. I added about 1/2 C of 2% milk b4 serving for a creamier soup. Easy to adapt with fresher ingredients and I'm thinking some shredded zucchini or spinach would be good addition too! Well, get creative and make it your own. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
I didn't have nor particularly care for thyme so used Italian seasoning and substituted vegetable broth for water. I also used the canned tomatoes with basil. It was so good my daughter said she wants Tomato soup when she gets sick instead of chicken noodle. This will definitely be part of my monthly menu. Taste good hot or cold and can be for lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This soup was great and I usually hate tomato soup. My husband would have preferred the carrots and celery to be cooked a little longer. Plus, this recipe makes way more than six servings in my opinion. Overall, it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I'm not a huge fan of tomato soup but this is fantastic! After I simmered the soup, I went ahead and took half of it, pureed it and added it back in the soup for extra tomato flavor. If you like it completely smooth like traditional tomato soup, then I suggest pureeing the whole thing; but I like a little chunk in mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Great taste I used all fresh tomatoes and this made it chunky which I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Very good soup. I omitted the salt and Worcestershire (I'm a salt lover and this soup definitely didn't need the addition). It was a bit acidic, so I added some sugar. Chopped the carrots very thin so that they'd soften nicely. I ended up simmering for about 50 minutes to thicken it slightly. The resulting texture was very good and needed no blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
As a tomato soup lover....I thought this soup was disgusting. Not much flavor. Had to add more salt and pepper and parsley and bit of cream just to eat it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Canyon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States