Tomato Soup Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I had half a can of tomato soup leftover from making another recipe and decided to use it up by making half of this recipe. I followed the recipe, but I did omit the ground cloves, as I am not a fan. I baked this in my 6-cup bundt pan for about 30 minutes. This produced a small cake that was nicely spiced. Since I served this as a coffee cake, I didn’t make the cream cheese frosting, although I’m sure that would have been wonderful. I did add a little whipped cream to one piece to dress it up for my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was highly skeptical. Basically, you throw every thing into a bowl and mix. It really shouldn't turn out well. But it did, and it's amazing. This is a delicate and fragile delicious cake. It tastes more like pumpkin than any thing else, but it's much lighter than any pumpkin cake recipe I've found. This is a new 'go-to' recipe for me. I'll make it again and again. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CathyCF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is fantastic - lots of flavour and freezes well too. Don't be put off by the soup, believe me you don't taste it but it makes the cake incredibly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parry Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
WOW!!!! This is totally the secret ingredient that will quench the curiousity of any cook who wants to make the ultimate soft, tender, and moist spice cake! My whole family loves it (they are eating it as I speak), and no one could tell I used tomato soup!! The frosting is the cherry on top that completes this great desert! A six star spice cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Nemati

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
My Mom used to make this cake and I did not have her recipe. I looked this up and it is so much like it, although I think moister! It got all eat in 2 days. Love the cream cheese icing, I also added some raisins which Mom used to put in hers. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Amazing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is another cake that is part of my childhood memories. When I made this cake the kids all went yuk...but once they tasted there were no leftovers :( I put the cream cheese icing on it....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very very good! Substituted the shortening for equal amount of applesauce, added 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 cup chopped walnuts. Made it twice this week. A hit here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had my reservations about this one, but it turned out great. Super moist even 4 days later. I used a cream cheese frosting I had left over from a previous project. Even my husband liked it and he's not a sweets person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
made this exactly as written.gave some to everyone in the family and got huge raves from all of them.of course,told none of them about the soup until after they had eaten it. it was so good noone even cared.super moist.super easy to make.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States