Tomato Soup Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
made this exactly as written.gave some to everyone in the family and got huge raves from all of them.of course,told none of them about the soup until after they had eaten it. it was so good noone even cared.super moist.super easy to make.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I had half a can of tomato soup leftover from making another recipe and decided to use it up by making half of this recipe. I followed the recipe, but I did omit the ground cloves, as I am not a fan. I baked this in my 6-cup bundt pan for about 30 minutes. This produced a small cake that was nicely spiced. Since I served this as a coffee cake, I didn’t make the cream cheese frosting, although I’m sure that would have been wonderful. I did add a little whipped cream to one piece to dress it up for my photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Maybe I did something wrong, or maybe because I was the one who made them, but I swear I can taste the tomato soup... I didn't really like these, but the kids ate them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I made this into cupcakes, and they took 20 minutes to bake. The crumb has the perfect consistency-soft and moist, not dense or spongy at all. If only all my other cupcakes came out like that! The flavor is very good, too, and reminds me of gingerbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this cake into cupcakes and it was superb. I (of course) made some changes. I omitted the water and subbed a half cup roasted applesauce for the shortening and 2 rounded tbs of plain Greek Yogurt for the milk. I also added raisins and will likely add walnuts next time. For the frosting, I used 8oz of cream cheese, 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract, and 3/4 cup of powdered sugar. I can't imagine how sweet 2 cups would be!! If you're unsure about this recipe, try it. You'll be pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I was highly skeptical. Basically, you throw every thing into a bowl and mix. It really shouldn't turn out well. But it did, and it's amazing. This is a delicate and fragile delicious cake. It tastes more like pumpkin than any thing else, but it's much lighter than any pumpkin cake recipe I've found. This is a new 'go-to' recipe for me. I'll make it again and again. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Farrer Stelma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I had my reservations about this one, but it turned out great. Super moist even 4 days later. I used a cream cheese frosting I had left over from a previous project. Even my husband liked it and he's not a sweets person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Very very good! Substituted the shortening for equal amount of applesauce, added 1 tsp of nutmeg and 1 cup chopped walnuts. Made it twice this week. A hit here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I made this into healthy muffins instead of cake. I used whole wheat white flour, cut the sugar down to a half cup, I used Healthy Request tomato soup, half homemade apple butter in place of half the oil, and I added 1/2 cup of organic raisins that I soaked in hot chai to "plump" them before adding them to the batter. I did not use the cream cheese frosting but that would be excellent on these. I got twelve biggish muffins out of this recipe and they turned out beautiful, moist and very tasty. 350* for 20 minutes was just right. This was an excellent recipe to use on hand pantry ingredients to make a healthy breakfast/snack for my husband and kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is another cake that is part of my childhood memories. When I made this cake the kids all went yuk...but once they tasted there were no leftovers :( I put the cream cheese icing on it....mmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette from Quebec, Canada

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Drummondville, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States