Tomato Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
very good--thanks for this vegetarian recipe! I imagine it will be good chilled during warmer weather. I used 4c low sodium vegetable broth instead of water/boullion, and added chick peas and mushrooms. Also used canned carrots and corn. Next time, I will also add diced tomatoes. Your seasonings were spot on--thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I enjoyed the flavor of this soup. Also loved that I could eat alot for not many calories. Next time I will precook my carrots. They did not soften in the amount of time stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Great soup! I just used orzo instead for the pasta. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina_Papou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Anything that gets my kids to eat veggies is a winner in my book! Before I added the pasta (I used what I had- shells), I put half in a container to freeze. Now I have an easy dinner for another night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was sooooo easy to make and delicious. I did make a few modifications. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon, a can of diced tomatoes, I doubled the red pepper sauce, doubled the pasta and I added a half cup of fat free half & half cream to make it thicker. Lastly, if you cook this with the lid on it contains the moisture ... if you want a thicker sauce then take off the lid and cook an additional 30-minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Tasted artificial .. Canned tomato sauce not a good idea. Would make again with homemade tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was a yummy soup for a rainy day today! It was a little thin for my tastes, but it will probably be a bit thicker tomorrow as leftovers. I did kick up the Tabasco sauce a bit, but this was personal preference. I have made a recipe very similar to this with a couple of cans of kidney beans (rinsed and drained) and this makes a yummy protein boost! A nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Love, love, love this soup. This is the perfect receipe for adding/subtracting according to one's personal taste or what you happen to have on hand. I didn't have any tomato sauce, so I used 1 14.5 oz. can diced tomatoes w/ basil and garlic and added one (tomato can) of V-8 Vegetable juice and only 4 cups of water (like mine a little thicker). I didn't have any Italian Seasonings, added 1/4 t. basil and 1/4 t. oregano and 1 t. Mrs. Dash's Original Seasonings. Also, added barely 1/8 t. nutmeg. All the other seasonings-vegetables were as stated. 10 minutes before adding pasta I added 1 handful of fresh spinach. On serving added 1 T. grated parmasan cheese on top of soup. With homemade French Bread from this site. . . this is absolutely wonderful!!! Great comfort food on a cold winter day. Thank you for sharing your recipe. This is definitely a keeper and will make this often. Oh, and this freezes beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Try adding about 1 cup whipping cream to turn it into tomato bisque, it is so good it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is one of my very favorite dinners to make. I usually top it with mozzarella and pair it with a hearty whole grain bread. I don't change anything about the recipe - it's perfect as is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States