Tomato Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was delicious. I seeded the tomatoes prior to cooking and did not run through a sieve.. I like the little pulp pieces left after pureeing with my immersion blender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
Very thin soup. Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I would rate it higher - but it takes A LOT of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Wimbledon, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
This recipe is a great starter for soups or just on its own. I used it as a base and added a splash of heavy cream, 2 chicken breasts to simmer with it then shred, diced mushrooms and tiny bow tie pasta. Just a hint when making the base: started by submerging the whole tomatoes in boiling water until the skin cracks then into some cold water - the skin will slough right off. Then cut them in half the "round" way so it is easy to remove the seeds with your thumb. This will cut out the step of straining your soup after blending... I prefer my tomatoe soup to me more chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T. Whisenhunt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Definitely a good soup, I also added basmati rice and let it boil out in the soup (make sure you wash the rice very well first) fresh cilantro at the end, and lots of ground black pepper for a nice kick to warm you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahandtheCity

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
A great, easy soup. I was low on time, these were my adjustments, basically: Did the recipe for about 2.5 servings (about 5 cups tomatoes, 3/4 celery stalk and a half an onion and 1 bay leaf). I was short on time. Simmered for about half an hour, removed bay leaf, simmered for about one more hour after pureeing. Add a little cream to the bowl for a completely different tasting soup. Liked it because it really framed the tomatoes without the normal basil pairing. Note: Pureeing is TRIVIAL with a stick blender. Just puree it in the pot. I use mine just about every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is a little work but WORTH IT! What a healthy alternative to canned, bland tomato soup. I scaled this down to 4 servings and still had enough to fill my large stockpot! Scaled down, I use 5 cans of diced tomatoes, 1/2-3/4 onion, a few stalks of celery, 1 bay leaf, and garlic salt and pepper to taste. I omitted all the extra salt and sugar. To simplify this a bit, I just throw all ingredients from step 1 into my crockpot on low in the morning. By the time I get home from work, it's ready to blended and sieved. I prefer the soup a little thinner so I skip the simmering step. I LOVE this soup and make sure my freezer is always stocked with it. I really hope you try it; it is WELL WORTH THE EFFORT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2006
I thought this was wonderful! It took awhile to make, but was defintly worth it. My roommates are begging me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zorphth44
Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
My first try at homemade tomato soup and it came out wonderfully delicious. I made one-third of the recipe and used tomatoes from the garden. I plan to make it a family favorite too. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States