Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and so easy! I agree that some of the diced tomatoes should be pureed (I put about half the can into a blender) to make the soup a little thinner. It's great for dipping grilled cheese! Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Wow! This is the best tomato soup ever. I have made it 5 times, and 2 times ate all of it by myself! I agree with the others about running it through a blender briefly. A little chunkyness is good tho. I have eaten it without the cream, and it is still good, however I like it best with just a cup of half and half added. Also, if you use tomato's with garlic and basil, reduce the chicken stock by half, and omit the cream, you have a great and easy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Great soup! Even better if put in a blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This tomato soup is delicious! To lower the fat, I substitute one cup of lowfat plain yogurt and combined it with one cup of the heavy whipping cream. Also, I blended it in the blender before mixing the soup with the cream/yogurt. The results were superb, and it tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This soup came out better than I had even hoped! I am not normally a "tomato" person, I was actually preparing this soup for someone in my family. After tasting this wonderful, creamy soup though, I am now a tomato soup convert! I did slightly puree the tomatoes though and also, I would recommend doubling this recipe because one batch will not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
WOW.. this was a very simple, very wonderful soup. It's simple in flavor too and isn't too spicy ... I used what was in my pantry and used 1 can of crushed tomatoes and 2 fresh tomatoes instead of the can of chopped. Once everything was cooked, I put everything in the blender and creamed it..... I sauteed a can of crabmeat in butter and served it on the side. My husband raved and raved and raved!!! Perfect for a winter's day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
This soup is great and very similar to a soup I enjoyed at the Macaroni Grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
This is the best tomato soup- very similar to one we had at a restaraunt in Maine. The first time I made it, I substituted crushed tomatoes to avoid the blender and it was perfect. The second time, I used a different brand of tomatoes and it was a little sweet. Next time I will cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
This was SOOOO good. I didn't have any cream so I used evaporated milk and I used a quart of my own home-canned tomatoes. I just chopped them up in my food processor. It was wonderful. Thanks LeeAnn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Restaurant quality tomato soup!! I pureed everything at the end and it was excellent. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States