Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Lovely, simple flavor. I omitted both the margarine (and if I had wanted the extra calories, I would have used butter for its superior taste) and sugar, which is unnecessary in properly prepared tomato recipes. Also cut the soda to a mere sprinkle. The result was perfection. I incorporated milk instead of cream for a lighter, fresher flavor. For those of you who have had problems with the cream curdling, try tempering the cream. After heating it, add a spoonful of the hot soup into it and stir it in. Add another couple of spoonfuls and stir. After adding about a cup of hot soup this way, whisk your cream mixture into the pot of hot soup. The soup should be at the barest simmer, not a rippin' boil. Possibilities for garnishes of your bowls of soup include julienne strips of fresh basil leaves, a tsp of freshly grated Parmesan or Asiago, or finely minced pepperoni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This is a "great tomato flavor" soup. But be careful ~ if the base is boiling when adding the cream, the cream can curdle. Hint ~ heat the cream until hot, but not boiling before adding to tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
Best tomato soup recipe ever. Notes: Don't add any more than the 1/4 tsp baking soda, ie don't guess! b/c you will totally kill the acidity of the soup and end up trying to compensate with vinegar. Add whatever spices you personally like when you add the minced onion. This makes the soup recipe "yours" I like to add an italian spice mix with crushed red pepper and some balsamic vinegar at the very end. SO good. Many thanks to Lee Ann for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Are there more than 5 stars? This recipe is a "10" as far as I'm concerned. My hubby and I have had the "world famous" tomato soup from the 4B's Restaurant in Montana and I believe this was actually better! I'd been searching for a long time for this, since the restaurant won't give out their recipe anymore, and I thought for sure we were back in Montana when we ate this. Thank you so much for a great recipe - I owe you one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Excellet soup! At least, I thought so. My husband and father in law are Cuban, so anything sweet at the supper table is a no no with them. This soup is superb, however if you do NOT like a "sweet" soup, this isn't for you. Next time I make it just for them, I will obmit the sugar. I will try it myself just to see how it tastes without the sugar. Tomatoes can be sweet anyway. So if you would rather have a "tomato-y" type of soup rather than a sweet tasting one, leave out the soup. But otherwise, this is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Wow! This is the best tomato soup ever. I have made it 5 times, and 2 times ate all of it by myself! I agree with the others about running it through a blender briefly. A little chunkyness is good tho. I have eaten it without the cream, and it is still good, however I like it best with just a cup of half and half added. Also, if you use tomato's with garlic and basil, reduce the chicken stock by half, and omit the cream, you have a great and easy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This soup is excellent. My husband said it was the best soup I ever made and I've made many excellent soups. The only change I made is I don't use margarine so I added real butter. Follow the recipe exactly and you will LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and so easy! I agree that some of the diced tomatoes should be pureed (I put about half the can into a blender) to make the soup a little thinner. It's great for dipping grilled cheese! Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I lead a hospitality team at church. We take care of our musicians, tech and production teams each weekend during our 4 services, and this was my weekend to cook. I had 40 people to feed, and since it was a nice Fall day, I thought I would do some comfort food. I made this recipe and the grilled cheese recipe also from this website. When I returned to help clean up, you would not believe the amazing comments that I received. Actually, it was a bit overwhelming. Everyone thought the soup and sandwiches were out of this world and received many requests for the recipe. I heard that the one musician ate 3 bowls and then someone decided that it was even more fun to drink the soup from a Styrofoam cup. Hey, whatever makes them happy, makes me happy. Thank you so much for helping me to make the arts/tech/productions teams happy! I will definitely make this for one of our Christmas rehearsals in December!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent! My husband actually said it was the best tomato soup he has ever had....I told him that was exactly what the recipe creator said :) I pureed most of the tomatoes, as one reviewer suggested, and left only about 1/4 of the tomatoes "whole". I liked the creamy-ness, with just a bit of texture from the tomato. A happy discovery - I made the base ahead of time, just so I would have less work to do at the end of the day. This allowed the mixture to cool, eliminating the need to heat the cream so it wouldn't curdle. I added the cream when we were ready to eat, and heated the entire thing at one time. Served with grilled swiss cheese and tuna sandwiches and marble rye. It was a yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States