Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
This is a "great tomato flavor" soup. But be careful ~ if the base is boiling when adding the cream, the cream can curdle. Hint ~ heat the cream until hot, but not boiling before adding to tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Great soup! Even better if put in a blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2000
very good soup - needs salt and pepper - I also pureed half of the tomato mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This tomato soup is delicious! To lower the fat, I substitute one cup of lowfat plain yogurt and combined it with one cup of the heavy whipping cream. Also, I blended it in the blender before mixing the soup with the cream/yogurt. The results were superb, and it tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
When I made this soup, I used half and half in place of the heavy cream. I also used 1 tablespoon of sugar. For extra tomato flavor I added a 64 ounce can of Campbells Tomato Juice. The soup was so good that even the non-tomato lovers ate it. Kendra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This soup came out better than I had even hoped! I am not normally a "tomato" person, I was actually preparing this soup for someone in my family. After tasting this wonderful, creamy soup though, I am now a tomato soup convert! I did slightly puree the tomatoes though and also, I would recommend doubling this recipe because one batch will not be enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
This was absolutely delicious and so easy! I agree that some of the diced tomatoes should be pureed (I put about half the can into a blender) to make the soup a little thinner. It's great for dipping grilled cheese! Great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
Very good! I pureed the tomatoes as suggested & added salt, pepper, 3/4 tsp dried basil & a little parsley while simmering. I also added 1 cup cooked white rice and a dash of cayenne pepper after adding only 1 cup of the cream (2 c seemed like too much) and simmered a few minutes longer. It turned out very good & went great with grilled ham & cheese. Thanks for this recipe! I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
Wow! This is the best tomato soup ever. I have made it 5 times, and 2 times ate all of it by myself! I agree with the others about running it through a blender briefly. A little chunkyness is good tho. I have eaten it without the cream, and it is still good, however I like it best with just a cup of half and half added. Also, if you use tomato's with garlic and basil, reduce the chicken stock by half, and omit the cream, you have a great and easy marinara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
One of my best friends suggested adding canned crab meat into the soup. It made a delicious addition! Just make sure that you rinse the crab meat prior to putting it into the soup. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States