Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Delicious soup! I have made it following the recipe exactly as well as by altering the amount of cream (less to make less fattening). I have also replaced cream with half and half, and even milk to make a lower fat and calorie soup. I also use italian diced tomatoes (tomatoes w/basil, garlic and oregano) for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
We loved this creamy tomato soup! As usual, I made a couple substitutions after reading the other reviews. I omitted the margarine and sugar. Added lots of dry basil, black pepper, about 4-6 cloves minced garlic and 5 tablespoons diced fresh yellow onion. We tempered the whipping cream with spoonfuls of soup so it didn't curdle and eventually added all of the whipping cream/mixed in soup to the remaining soup. I can't wait to try with milk or half and half for a healthier version. Thanks for this wonderful tomato soup recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Super yummy! I used crushed tomatoes, and since I am a vegetarian, I used vegetable stock instead of chicken. I omitted the sugar and used 1/2 cream and 1/2 half and half. I heated the cream mixture in the microwave (in a Pyrex measuring cup,) tempered it before adding it to the soup and it was lovely. MMMM. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
yum! so good....i used half whipping cream and half skim milk because i ran out of cream and it tastes amazing! also added some garlic powder, a tiny bit of red pepper, and basil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was great. I didn't have an hour to simmer so i left out the onions. I wanted to keep it somewhat healthy so i used skim milk instead of cream and added everything all at once. After it had cooked about 15 minutes i mixed 1 Tbsp corn starch with just enough cold water to let it mix, and put that in the soup which thickened it up and made it seem very creamy without the cream. Seasoned with Northern Italian seasoning from Costco and some salt. It was the best tomato soup i have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This was very tasty! I'm 8 months pregnant right now, and all I want are classic soups. I made a few custom changes: I don't do milk, so I used 1 c. almond milk and 1 c. lowfat Kefir instead of cream. I used butter instead of margarine, veggie broth instead of chicken, and crushed tomatoes instead of diced. And it was still really creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very good. Used fresh tomatoes, homemade turkey broth and 1 whole onion sauteed in the butter before adding everything. Also used whole milk instead of cream. Added 1.5 chicken soup cubes for added flavor. Wish I had more leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Excellent! My husband actually said it was the best tomato soup he has ever had....I told him that was exactly what the recipe creator said :) I pureed most of the tomatoes, as one reviewer suggested, and left only about 1/4 of the tomatoes "whole". I liked the creamy-ness, with just a bit of texture from the tomato. A happy discovery - I made the base ahead of time, just so I would have less work to do at the end of the day. This allowed the mixture to cool, eliminating the need to heat the cream so it wouldn't curdle. I added the cream when we were ready to eat, and heated the entire thing at one time. Served with grilled swiss cheese and tuna sandwiches and marble rye. It was a yummy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boonton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SILVERPEACH
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I didn't have cream but replaced it with 3/4c milk with 2 tbs. of butter melted in it. I also poached an egg in it to add some protein and served it with a grilled cheese sandwich. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SILVERPEACH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I highly recommend this soup. I stumbled upon the recipe when I was responsible for feeding 300 people at a church function 2 years ago. It was a huge success! At home I use Rotel Tomatoes with Green Chile's and it's even better but it is spicy. If you have any frozen tomatoes from your garden add them at then end (I process with an immersion blender) and you'll get a great fresh kick! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States