Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This tasted just like a tomato bisque I had at a resturant. Only changes I made were adding basil to the tomato mixture and using fat free half and half instead of heavy cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Wow! So Yummy! I made the following substitutions: 4 cups fresh tomatoes (from my garden) instead of the canned tomatoes 1 1/3 cups water + 3T chicken boullion instead of the canned chicken stock 1/2 tin evaporated milk instead of 2 c. heavy cream And because my tomatoes were fresh they were more liquidy so I also made a roux from 1/3 cup vegetable oil and 1/3 cup flour and whisked it in to thicken the soup before adding the evaporated milk. Then I served it with some homemade multigrain buns. One of the yummiest things I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I liked this a lot but my husband just said it was ok. Picky men...my kids weren't home to give me their opinion. I agree with other posters - this only makes enough to feed 4 - not sure how much one would serve to get 11 servings out of this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
very good and easy to make, and smells awesome while its cooking. only changed a few things to personalize it for me- blend tomatoes, 1 small yellow onion, 4-8 cloves fresh garlic, then add chicken stock and sugar and blend until smooth. add to cooking pot with the butter and 6-8 culantro leaves which really brings out the flavor of all the ingredients while adding a subtle hint of cilantro, but easier to remove at the end. the baking soda is not needed at all. if cooking on the stove, simmer for at least an hour with the lid on, or if doing a double+ batch, use the crockpot on low for about 7-8 hours. add the cream at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Simple and delicious! I've had people begging me to make this for them. I use 1% milk instead of cream and it is still wonderful (and much better for you). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tuey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I usually follow recipes, but I found adding butter and sugar unnecessary. Instead I added extra onion and salt and pepper. It was quite delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. I used a quart of my home canned whole tomatoes, and a half of a chopped onion. I sauteed the onion in the butter until soft and then added the tomatoes juice and all. I smashed the tomatoes with a spoon. I only used a teaspoon of sugar and one cup of fat free half and half. Two cups would have been too much. I used my immersion blender to make it a smooth texture and added a can of tomato sauce. I served it for lunch and hubby and I agreed it was better than the stuff in the can. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Butter rather than margarine, homemade tomato sauce, NO sugar and not sure if the baking soda made any difference. (I'm convinced it wasn't necessary, but what the heck) Not quite as tomato-y as I wanted, so I added some tomato juice to compensate. Also added some salt and pepper to taste. Not at all necessary to simmer this for an hour! I think 20 minutes or so was plenty. Just heated the cream a bit in the microwave before adding to the soup which I had on low heat. Garnished with a swirl of homemade basil pesto I had in the freezer. EXcellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This definitely needs some more tomato. I had my boyfriend taste it before adding anything extra and he said it tasted like onion soup, not tomato. I then took about 3/4 of the soup and blended it for a few seconds so there were still a few chunks of tomato. It still wasn't tomato-y enough so I also added a small can of tomato sauce - much better. I also used milk instead of cream, partially to be healthier and partially because I didn't have any cream. We like spicy stuff so I added a few drops of Chalula after serving it up. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States