Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Really good - made some changes: Simmered tomatoes and broth (omitted onions) with margarine, sugar, baking soda, garlic, red chile flakes, basil, and salt and pepper for 20 mins. Pureed in blender. Returned to boil on the stove and added cheddar. Right before serving mixed in fat free half and half. Perfect with grilled cheese croutons!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
The soup was excellent! I added a teaspoon of curry to give it a unique flavor. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edgeunit

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was delicious! I omitted the onions, only because a family member doesnt like them. I was afraid kids wouldnt like the texture of diced tomatoes but I was pleasantly surprised at how soft the tomatoes were after simmering. I didnt change anything else and everyone at Thanksgiving loved it! I will definitely make again and add onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Great, simple recipe! I added celery and carrots and substituted half and half for the cream. Turned out so much better than the canned varieties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This recipe could be a 5* but it's WAY TOO SWEET, (IMO)! I had to add a lot of salt to make it edible. I will definitely make this again but omit the sugar altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This was a really good recipe ,but I believe next time I make it I will cut down the sugar . My husband and I enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I gave this 4 stars only because my family absolutely loved it. I was only luke warm about it. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not, but it was a bit too sweet for me. I added salt after the fact and that seemed to help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by timwsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This soup was delicious! With a few adjustments, it will be a family keeper. I used oil instead of margarine & milk instead of cream. I added some basil for extra flavor. And some corn starch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReSoNate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Delicious! I added a little corn starch as thickener, but otherwise it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great recipe. I substituted the cream with 2% milk; just heated it in a saucepan before stirring it into the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States