Tomato Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was a truly delicious soup for a cold, cold day. I first made it according to the recipe, but found I wanted to make some tweaks. I doubled the amount of tomatoes for a stronger flavor, and only used half he amount of cream, substituting half and half as another reviewer suggested. I also added one tablespoon of Italian seasoning and salt and pepper to taste. The third time this week that I made this soup (we loved it that much), I added some left over pot roast and it was a welcome, meaty addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Adams
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was the easiest recipe! I have made tons of soups and none have been this easy. I was convinced it was too simple to taste good. But after reading all of the good reviews, I decided to give it a try. It was amazing! All I did was add a touch of basil. I did put the soup in the blender before adding the cream. Otherwise, I did everything as directed. My son who is 10 years old ate 3 bowls and my husband ate two. I had one, but then the soup was gone! I made it with grilled cheese sandwiches. My son already asked if I could make it again this week. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Made as is, not great. I attempted to fix it and we ate it but I would only make again with the following changes. 1. Eliminate the heavy cream. Replace with 1/2 C light cream plus 1/2 C skim milk. Not only does it taste better but it eliminates 1500 calories from the recipe. (That is a lot of calories for soup.) 2. Eliminate the sugar. Doesn't need it. 3. Skip the baking soda (I think this might have been the cause of the "odd taste" my family kept commenting about. (I think). 4. Add fresh basil, parsley, ground pepper and salt. A note to novice cooks: Do not add the cold cream/milk directly to the hot soup. Either temper the cream or heat the cream slightly in the microwave and then add. Adding cold cream to hot soup causes the milk to curdle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
This soup was excellent. I made it for my daughter and I when she was coming over for a visit and lunch. I will never use canned again! Next time I will leave out 1/2 the sugar. I did also use butter rather than margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
This soup was surprisingly yummy! I never enjoyed tomato soup so much! I did make 5 convenient changes. I used tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. I omitted the sugar and onions(neither on hand) and instead added onion powder. I normally prefer cooking with real onions but I like my tomato soup super smooth. I also omitted the baking soda. And finally, I added only 1/4 cup heavy cream instead of 2 cups. I could not believe how delicious this soup was! I am making it again tonight! When I make it this way, it yields exactly 2 nice bowls full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolene trick

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
We absolutely love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TXturtlegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this for a very large group and everyone loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McFee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great recipe! Took multiple other suggestions 1. tempered the cream into the tomato soup to prevent curdling. 2. Subbed 1/2 of the cream for milk. 3. Added a splash of vinegar and a puttanesca (Red pepper flake) mix at the end. Served it along with bean and cheese quesadillas. Family loved it. Absolute goodness!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
The flavors are great. It's easy to make with ingredients found in the pantry and fridge. My main issue with it was that it's kind of heavy. After I added the cream I regretted it. I think next time I'll use less cream or use milk. Or maybe just omit the dairy altogether. I also added salt and pepper to taste which finished it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
It really deserves more than 5 stars! Thank you Lee Ann. This soup is wonderful . . . & so easy. I will never buy canned tomato soup again . . . & this gives a whole new meaning to a "simple grilled cheese & tomato soup lunch"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States