Tomato Soup Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2000
This seems to have too much baking soda in it. That is all you can taste when you eat the cake. The basic flavor seems pretty good but it is overwhelmed by a bitter baking soda taste that cannot be ignored. I had to throw the whole cake out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
This was one of the best spice cakes I have ever made! It had a great full, moist texture packed with plenty of spice. I would not change a thing! Even My picky kids loved it! It was very easy to make too. My son said it reminded him of a carrot cake without the carrots. I thought it tasted like gingerbread, but we all agreed it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
This cake is delicious! It tastes just like gingerbread. I substituted applesauce for the shortening and topped the cake with whipped topping. You can't even tell there is a can of tomato soup in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Wonderful cake. I read other reviews about soda taste. Looked up other recipes from friends and ended up switching quantities of baking soda and baking powder. It turned out perfectly. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
It was delicious! Im deff going to make this recipe again. What really drew me into this recipe was the tomato soup. I paired this recipe with a cream cheese frosting i found. I used 3 teaspoons in stead of the 4.. and found it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
WONDERFUL and MOIST!!! I did take the advice of a couple reviews--Used regular flour, used 1/3 c.brown sugar with the cup of white, used my home made apple sauce instead of shortning, and swapped the soda and baking powder amounts. Have made it twice in 3 days and took one cake to work. They couldn't tell there was tomato soup in it and OH SO MOIST. I will for sure be baking this one again. Shypurple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
A really delicious, easy cake. You'd never guess it had tomato soup in it, aside from the lovely color. I added currants and walnuts, and iced it with a cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I was surprised how good it tasted, and you could not tell that it had tomato soup in it. Next time however I will use reduced salt soup. I followed others suggestion and used applesauce instead of shortening. I probably over mixed as the center was under baked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good spice cake!!! I had no ginger so I used nutmeg instead and it was wonderful. We are having family over for dinner tonight and my husband walked into the kitchen and said "now, what are you making" (since I've been cooking for 2 days)... and I replied "a spice cake (his favorite) for you for Valentines Day" ........he said "thanks Honey" chagrined ....Great recipe!! I made it in a heart shaped pan and made cream cheese frosting. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
My cake turned out very dry and tasteless compared to other spice cakes I have made. I wondered if the 4 tsp. baking soda was correct so I didn't put all 4 tsp. in. Maybe that's where I went wrong. I don't think I'll be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States