Tomato Soup Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
great cake recipe, which i've made before. my lesson here is that when a recipe calls for self rising flour, use it. the old recipe i had only called for regular flour so it must have baking powder in it. i prefer to bake vs regular cooking( not that i can't, just my preference) so i guess i'll have to invest in self rising flour, still good tasting, also maybe some rasins or walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
A must keep recipe. I could not believe how moist this cake could be. Did not change any thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My Mother made this cake all through WW11, in Canada where we lived. This is exactly the taste of hers! Thankyou so very much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This turned out really dry for me. And the flavor was just ok. I remember seeing this recipe flipping through my grandma's old recipes and cookbooks. At least I can say I tried it though. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
awesome.It's the recipe my mom used to make.I never thought i would find it again.Thank You so much.It's been over 30years.Whow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Thanks for this recipe Debbie! It is a very good tomato soup cake. I have been trying to emulate my great-grandmother Jenke's cake and this one gets pretty close. I didn't find it too salty However, I always use unsalted butter, and I'm from the south, so that might have something to do with it! A very simple tip I picked up over the years is to toss the raisins in with 1/4 of the flour before you combine everything. It keeps them from sinking down to the bottom of your cake. Overall, it was the tiniest bit bland, so I might add a bit more of the spices next time. Very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mogtastic

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This waz such a yummy cake!! but i dont use raisans, it sorta gave it a pulpy kind of taste. Go reely easy on the salt and butter. Plus, don't worry if your cake smells a bit like baking soda, its perfectly nomal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morning Star

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
Sorry I just didn't like your version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I left the salt out like everyone said and used all purpose flour with a tsp of baking powder. This was amazing. You can't taste tomato at all and it is so fluffy and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This sounds disgusting if you tell them before they eat it that is is a "tomatoe soup" cake but if you wait they will be delighted. The consistancy is wonderful and the taste is fabulous. I remember my grandmother baking it and I am now 64 years old myself. I add chopped walnuts to it also and an extra egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States