Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
The flavors are good, but the consistency is not. It's very watery, even after sitting for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Good recipe. I felt there was a little too much of a Dijon taste. I might cut back on this a little next time. Used at a Baby shower brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feminiSh
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this twice so far and both times it was really watery. The last time I made it I put a ton of salt on my sliced tomatoes and let them sit for an hour or two to draw out the water. I did that because people said that this tart was too "juicy" because of the tomatoes. So that wasn't my problem. I also let the tart sit for 40 minutes so it could solidify a little more. I did use 3 eggs like some others suggested. I think next time I will use 2 eggs and one cup of heavy cream as suggested by The Food Network's Good Eats "Refrigerator Pie". Otherwise, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I just made this for my tomato-loving son for dinner. He says it is awesome. It is a little juicy, even after I took reviewer's suggestion and juiced and drained the tomatoes. It's finally set up after sitting for 40 minutes, so I'll have to play with that next time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I like others did not make the basil mayo but think it would have worked well. Made my own pie crust & used a smoked sausage instead of Italian. Added only 1 cup of cheese (1/2 on top, 1/2 on bottom). It set up perfectly well with only 1 egg & was much less sickly than a regular quiche. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. The only thing I would do differently, is to blanch the tomatoes before and peel them. The skins don't bake so well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Thank you for sharing, we really enjoyed this recipe. Didn't have lt cream so I used sour cream instead, yum! Next time I'll try ricotta to replace the lt cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
DEFINITELY needs more egg. I put in 3 eggs instead of just 1, and I think it would have fallen apart without them. Eggs are like the glue that hold a quiche together!! But, with the 3 eggs (and no other changes) it was DELICIOUS, both my husband and houseguest enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made my own pastry crust and used a tart pan with removeable bottom. Was Delicious! I didnt make the mayo and i dont think it needs it at all. It is definately wise to seed your tomatoes before slicing and i used lots of fresh basil instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States