Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Made 3 of these for a bridal shower and everyone raved about it. Has such a lovely taste. After reading some of the reviews I decided to go with 2 eggs and used half heavy cream and half milk for liquid. I baked them on the morning of the shower, let them cool and refrigerated then covered with foil placed them in oven at 200 Deg about 45 minutes before serving. They were scrumptious and this is now my new favorite quiche recipe. I didn't make the basil mayo but may try it next time although the taste was so good I would be afraid it would deter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
2 lb of tomatoes definitely seems wildly out of proportion for a typical deep dish 9" crust (and may be why some people ended up with sogginess). For me, about 4 plum tomatoes sliced thin did the trick just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Not to either my hubby or my liking. Just didn't make the grade. Even pre-baked the crust, but still soggy. Don't think I would even make it for a luncheon. Sorry about that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Amazing. I used bulk breakfast sausage from the butcher instead because I wanted it more breakfasty, used 3 eggs and fresh basil instead since I didn't have the dried kind. Roasted the tomato slices first for about 15 minutes and had no problem with it being watery at all. Didn't make the dip... but will next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Domines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
didn't turn out at all. Too watery and just not a good taste. I used a pie shell the size that they called for and it didn't all fit there was too much filling. There are only two of us and used the amount of tomato's called for but will not use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAITHLB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leaburg, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
Super tasty! I even made the homemade mayonnaise sauce, but I agree with the other reviewers- the tart is rich enough and the sauce makes it almost too rich. The only reason I gave the recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is because as many reviewers stated, the result was a little too runny. I drained off as much of the tomato liquid and seeds as I could, but it still came out runny and I had to drain the liquid from the tart after I removed the first few pieces. I will definitely make this again, but next time, I will either use more eggs (as one reviewer suggested) and/or add a little corn starch to thicken the cream. But my husband loved it too, so I'll definitely make it again. I think it would be really good even without any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very nice tart. Couldn't bring myself to make the mayo. Bc so many of the reviews mentioned this tart was juicy and I wanted to eat it the day after making it, I roasted the slices of tomato in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes. That seemed to work--there was some liquid (maybe a tbsp) that I drained off while still hot, but probably not enough to get soggy. It was perfectly fine this evening when I pulled it out to heat it up. I thought there were too many tomatoes, but bf disagreed. I like the flavors but maybe I'd prefer to layer them instead. Still, an excellent tart that we enjoyed for dinner tonight. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Definately would make again! I added the spices to the egg mixture and doubled the garlic. Didn't use the mayo - thought it was fine without. Also followed advice in other reviews - seeded the tomatoes and let sit for 20 -30 minutes before cutting. Next time will try it with a 3rd egg. Great way to use the garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This was a very good pie/tart. I accidentally made it with a full pound of sausage so it was a little sausage heavy, but it was still good. I didn't make the mayonnaise either. I will make this again when I have fresh tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I made this for a Baby Shower, it was a big hit, gone in minutes, I barely managed to get a piece!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States