Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Tried this tonight with some wonderful home grown tomatoes and it was delicious! Didn't do they mayo though as I felt it was rich enough. Just added some basil to a small portion of prepared mayo and used just a dollop on each piece. We did have some left over so we'll have to see if it reheats OK. There was quite a bit of juice left in the pan which I removed so leftovers won't be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Delicious recipe! Used a frozen deep dish pie crust as a timesaver. Also, used more than 1/2 pound of Italian sausage. My advice is to make this the day before you want to serve it so it will have a chance to become more solidified. I only had three small Roma tomatoes and wish that I had more. You definately need the tomatoes in this dish. Also, do not add any salt whatsoever. Didn't bother with making the fresh mayo though I think it would be terrific with this. Went wonderful with a Chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I just made this for my tomato-loving son for dinner. He says it is awesome. It is a little juicy, even after I took reviewer's suggestion and juiced and drained the tomatoes. It's finally set up after sitting for 40 minutes, so I'll have to play with that next time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
DEFINITELY needs more egg. I put in 3 eggs instead of just 1, and I think it would have fallen apart without them. Eggs are like the glue that hold a quiche together!! But, with the 3 eggs (and no other changes) it was DELICIOUS, both my husband and houseguest enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. The only thing I would do differently, is to blanch the tomatoes before and peel them. The skins don't bake so well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
DEEE-LISH! This was much more like a meal than the other tomato basil tart on the site. I again used tons (maybe 3/4 cup?) chopped fresh basil (YUM!!) instead of dried, and used the ready-to-serve Hillshire farm sausage (8 oz of the 16 oz "U" link it comes in) to cut down on all the oil & grease cooked sausage would have created. Also did not pre-cook the onions-- I don't think they need it. Tossed 1/2 of a chopped green pepper, too, and layered each of the main ingredients. Used LOTS of garden tomatoes - more than called for. MAKE SURE you remove the seeds from the tomatoes first!!! The first time I made this, it was way too watery. The second time, with the seeded tomatoes, it came out perfectly! I think allowing a full 30 minutes for it to cool before cutting is important, too. DID NOT make the basil mayo "topping" for this - blecch! Don't think it needs any sort of topping, but is nicely accompanied by a fresh cucumber-dill salad on the side! :-) THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I like others did not make the basil mayo but think it would have worked well. Made my own pie crust & used a smoked sausage instead of Italian. Added only 1 cup of cheese (1/2 on top, 1/2 on bottom). It set up perfectly well with only 1 egg & was much less sickly than a regular quiche. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Definately would make again! I added the spices to the egg mixture and doubled the garlic. Didn't use the mayo - thought it was fine without. Also followed advice in other reviews - seeded the tomatoes and let sit for 20 -30 minutes before cutting. Next time will try it with a 3rd egg. Great way to use the garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
If you want to impress people, make this. Very quick and easy, and so tasty. I plan on substituting spinach for the tomatoes, or maybe in addition to them, next time. I didn't make the basil mayo as it's very rich on its own. Reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Got two pounds of tomatoes from the store on sale and just when I was thinking I might turn them into marinara sauce, this recipe came along. Boy am I glad I didn't make the marinara sauce because this pie rocks! I usually don't like tomatoes but I'm on my second helping right now. The recipe itself is so versatile, you can add and subtract ingredients to your liking. I added green pepper, substituted soy sausage and used half cheddar and half mozzarella. A definite 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States