Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Tried this tonight with some wonderful home grown tomatoes and it was delicious! Didn't do they mayo though as I felt it was rich enough. Just added some basil to a small portion of prepared mayo and used just a dollop on each piece. We did have some left over so we'll have to see if it reheats OK. There was quite a bit of juice left in the pan which I removed so leftovers won't be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Delicious recipe! Used a frozen deep dish pie crust as a timesaver. Also, used more than 1/2 pound of Italian sausage. My advice is to make this the day before you want to serve it so it will have a chance to become more solidified. I only had three small Roma tomatoes and wish that I had more. You definately need the tomatoes in this dish. Also, do not add any salt whatsoever. Didn't bother with making the fresh mayo though I think it would be terrific with this. Went wonderful with a Chianti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I just made this for my tomato-loving son for dinner. He says it is awesome. It is a little juicy, even after I took reviewer's suggestion and juiced and drained the tomatoes. It's finally set up after sitting for 40 minutes, so I'll have to play with that next time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
DEFINITELY needs more egg. I put in 3 eggs instead of just 1, and I think it would have fallen apart without them. Eggs are like the glue that hold a quiche together!! But, with the 3 eggs (and no other changes) it was DELICIOUS, both my husband and houseguest enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. The only thing I would do differently, is to blanch the tomatoes before and peel them. The skins don't bake so well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
DEEE-LISH! This was much more like a meal than the other tomato basil tart on the site. I again used tons (maybe 3/4 cup?) chopped fresh basil (YUM!!) instead of dried, and used the ready-to-serve Hillshire farm sausage (8 oz of the 16 oz "U" link it comes in) to cut down on all the oil & grease cooked sausage would have created. Also did not pre-cook the onions-- I don't think they need it. Tossed 1/2 of a chopped green pepper, too, and layered each of the main ingredients. Used LOTS of garden tomatoes - more than called for. MAKE SURE you remove the seeds from the tomatoes first!!! The first time I made this, it was way too watery. The second time, with the seeded tomatoes, it came out perfectly! I think allowing a full 30 minutes for it to cool before cutting is important, too. DID NOT make the basil mayo "topping" for this - blecch! Don't think it needs any sort of topping, but is nicely accompanied by a fresh cucumber-dill salad on the side! :-) THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I like others did not make the basil mayo but think it would have worked well. Made my own pie crust & used a smoked sausage instead of Italian. Added only 1 cup of cheese (1/2 on top, 1/2 on bottom). It set up perfectly well with only 1 egg & was much less sickly than a regular quiche. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Definately would make again! I added the spices to the egg mixture and doubled the garlic. Didn't use the mayo - thought it was fine without. Also followed advice in other reviews - seeded the tomatoes and let sit for 20 -30 minutes before cutting. Next time will try it with a 3rd egg. Great way to use the garden tomatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
If you want to impress people, make this. Very quick and easy, and so tasty. I plan on substituting spinach for the tomatoes, or maybe in addition to them, next time. I didn't make the basil mayo as it's very rich on its own. Reheats very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
Got two pounds of tomatoes from the store on sale and just when I was thinking I might turn them into marinara sauce, this recipe came along. Boy am I glad I didn't make the marinara sauce because this pie rocks! I usually don't like tomatoes but I'm on my second helping right now. The recipe itself is so versatile, you can add and subtract ingredients to your liking. I added green pepper, substituted soy sausage and used half cheddar and half mozzarella. A definite 5-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States