Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
The flavors are good, but the consistency is not. It's very watery, even after sitting for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Good recipe. I felt there was a little too much of a Dijon taste. I might cut back on this a little next time. Used at a Baby shower brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feminiSh
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this twice so far and both times it was really watery. The last time I made it I put a ton of salt on my sliced tomatoes and let them sit for an hour or two to draw out the water. I did that because people said that this tart was too "juicy" because of the tomatoes. So that wasn't my problem. I also let the tart sit for 40 minutes so it could solidify a little more. I did use 3 eggs like some others suggested. I think next time I will use 2 eggs and one cup of heavy cream as suggested by The Food Network's Good Eats "Refrigerator Pie". Otherwise, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I just made this for my tomato-loving son for dinner. He says it is awesome. It is a little juicy, even after I took reviewer's suggestion and juiced and drained the tomatoes. It's finally set up after sitting for 40 minutes, so I'll have to play with that next time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I like others did not make the basil mayo but think it would have worked well. Made my own pie crust & used a smoked sausage instead of Italian. Added only 1 cup of cheese (1/2 on top, 1/2 on bottom). It set up perfectly well with only 1 egg & was much less sickly than a regular quiche. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. The only thing I would do differently, is to blanch the tomatoes before and peel them. The skins don't bake so well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Thank you for sharing, we really enjoyed this recipe. Didn't have lt cream so I used sour cream instead, yum! Next time I'll try ricotta to replace the lt cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
DEFINITELY needs more egg. I put in 3 eggs instead of just 1, and I think it would have fallen apart without them. Eggs are like the glue that hold a quiche together!! But, with the 3 eggs (and no other changes) it was DELICIOUS, both my husband and houseguest enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made my own pastry crust and used a tart pan with removeable bottom. Was Delicious! I didnt make the mayo and i dont think it needs it at all. It is definately wise to seed your tomatoes before slicing and i used lots of fresh basil instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States