Tomato Sausage Tart Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Good recipe. I felt there was a little too much of a Dijon taste. I might cut back on this a little next time. Used at a Baby shower brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by feminiSh
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I made this twice so far and both times it was really watery. The last time I made it I put a ton of salt on my sliced tomatoes and let them sit for an hour or two to draw out the water. I did that because people said that this tart was too "juicy" because of the tomatoes. So that wasn't my problem. I also let the tart sit for 40 minutes so it could solidify a little more. I did use 3 eggs like some others suggested. I think next time I will use 2 eggs and one cup of heavy cream as suggested by The Food Network's Good Eats "Refrigerator Pie". Otherwise, it is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by feminiSh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I just made this for my tomato-loving son for dinner. He says it is awesome. It is a little juicy, even after I took reviewer's suggestion and juiced and drained the tomatoes. It's finally set up after sitting for 40 minutes, so I'll have to play with that next time I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Great recipe!!! I like others did not make the basil mayo but think it would have worked well. Made my own pie crust & used a smoked sausage instead of Italian. Added only 1 cup of cheese (1/2 on top, 1/2 on bottom). It set up perfectly well with only 1 egg & was much less sickly than a regular quiche. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
This was very yummy. The only thing I would do differently, is to blanch the tomatoes before and peel them. The skins don't bake so well in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Thank you for sharing, we really enjoyed this recipe. Didn't have lt cream so I used sour cream instead, yum! Next time I'll try ricotta to replace the lt cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
DEFINITELY needs more egg. I put in 3 eggs instead of just 1, and I think it would have fallen apart without them. Eggs are like the glue that hold a quiche together!! But, with the 3 eggs (and no other changes) it was DELICIOUS, both my husband and houseguest enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
This is a great recipe. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I made my own pastry crust and used a tart pan with removeable bottom. Was Delicious! I didnt make the mayo and i dont think it needs it at all. It is definately wise to seed your tomatoes before slicing and i used lots of fresh basil instead of dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
DEEE-LISH! This was much more like a meal than the other tomato basil tart on the site. I again used tons (maybe 3/4 cup?) chopped fresh basil (YUM!!) instead of dried, and used the ready-to-serve Hillshire farm sausage (8 oz of the 16 oz "U" link it comes in) to cut down on all the oil & grease cooked sausage would have created. Also did not pre-cook the onions-- I don't think they need it. Tossed 1/2 of a chopped green pepper, too, and layered each of the main ingredients. Used LOTS of garden tomatoes - more than called for. MAKE SURE you remove the seeds from the tomatoes first!!! The first time I made this, it was way too watery. The second time, with the seeded tomatoes, it came out perfectly! I think allowing a full 30 minutes for it to cool before cutting is important, too. DID NOT make the basil mayo "topping" for this - blecch! Don't think it needs any sort of topping, but is nicely accompanied by a fresh cucumber-dill salad on the side! :-) THANKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States