Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
1 1/2 TABLESPOONS OF PEPPER IS WAY TOO MUCH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I used 2 lbs crushed tomatoes from my garden and canned crushed to make up the difference. Everything else I kept the same and it was absolutely wonderful, flavorful sauce. I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I am not big on tomato sauce but have a million tomatoes from my garden and wanted to use some up. This was easy, used things I had on hand and turned out good. Now I can jar some up and give it to people who like tomato sauce :-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CraZee A

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I know folks hate modifications, but I made a few. I started out pretty true to the recipe. I boiled the tomatoes for a minute and put them in cool water to remove the skins (personal preference). Then I chopped them up. Used beef Better Than Bouillon rather than salt. A little more onion. Minced garlic from a jar instead of powdered. Skipped parsley. Everything else was the same. Then I made adjustments. Since I had some fresh mushrooms that needed to be used, I sautéed those and added them. Put in a can of tomato paste to thicken a bit. Re-seasoned, including some "Italian Seasoning" (salt-free), and some more sugar because the tomatoes were a bit tart. I used home-grown tomatoes. My husband said he can't remember ever having better spaghetti! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is the first time I have attempted to make tomato sauce. I followed this recipe to the letter except, per another review, used teaspoon measure instead of tablespoon of black pepper.. It tastes wonderful! I ate two bowls of it as soup it was so good. Now I wish I hadn't given as many tomatoes away earlier in the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I was surprised at how good this tomato sauce was!! No one believed I made it from scratch!! I followed the recipe to a T, except I used less tomatoes ( I only had about 8 small tomatoes on hand). I do think there was a lot of olive oil in the sauce, but it could've been because I didn't use the full amount of tomatoes. All in all, this is my new go to recipe! I'll never buy a jar again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Excellent recipe. I added one jalepeno and one cayenne pepper to make it a bit more spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Used fresh tomatoes from our garden as well as fresh oregano, basil, and parsley. Also added minced garlic and a can of tomato paste to thicken it up. Since my husband loves a sweeter sauce I added a 1/3 cup of brown sugar. Let is simmer on very low for 2-3 hours. HUGE hit poured over fresh cheese ravioli. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powell, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m3shelly
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Tried this sauce with fresh tomatoes from my garden. It tasted fantastic! I added real garlic, like most others who rated. I thought mine turned out a little watery, with liquid separating after putting the sauce on top of pasta, but I think that was my fault. I let the simmering get away from me for a few minutes, and it turned into a rapid boil, which I think caused the tomatoes to separate into solid/liquid. It still tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pick up a box of beautiful Roma tomatoes and used them in making this sauce. I have made a triple batch of this and froze it a couple of times now. It is WONDERFUL! It is a great basic recipe for a homemade tomato sauce and you can adjust the ingredients to your tastes. I made the recipe just as it reads the first time and the second time I added some wine and fresh herbs. Love using the 2nd version for bruschetta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States