Tomato Sauce with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is great! I married into an Italian family, and have always been lovingly teased about my use of 'canned' sauce. I decided to try this as my first attempt at 'home-made' sauce and invited the in-laws over for dinner (think Marie of Everybody Loves Raymond!) LOL! They were impressed and my kids gave it a 'two thumbs up'! The only difference is I used dried basil, added a bit of oregano, and a lil more garlic. This is super easy to make and even better.......it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Very good, I use this recipe all the time but add 2 tbsp italian seasoning and 1 tsp oregano. I usually double the recipe, add 1 12oz can of paste and 4 cups of water and let it cook down until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was a great change of pace recipe and quick to fix. Will definately make this again. Did not rate child reaction as I don't have any kids in the house anymore but imagine they would probably like it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was good to make for a quick 30 minute sauce. I scaled this recipe down to 8 servings, used ground sage sausage and pureed my tomatoes (daughter doesn't like them). I like adding a bay leaf for additional flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a 10+. Added Italian seasoning and oregano - may added some hot red pepper flakes next time. Really loved this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was excellent sauce. My kids don't like the chunks of tomatoes, so I used tomatoe sauce instead. No need to alter this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used this sauce recipe for my lasagna so I modified a little bit because I wanted it really thick. One of my cans of tomato sauce was also the kind with garlic and basil already added in and for the thickness I didn't add the water. Added more oregeno to it too but otherwise it was one of the best sauces I made as my family usually likes Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This sauce had too much acid in it. It gave my husband and I heartburn. I wanted to try something different than my own sauce, so I gave this a shot. If you have acid reflux, put tb sugar or stick a carrot in to absorb some of the acid. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made it without sausage. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a version of this using mushrooms. I made it over a campfire though so it was a little different. Overall a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States