Tomato Sauce with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This sauce had too much acid in it. It gave my husband and I heartburn. I wanted to try something different than my own sauce, so I gave this a shot. If you have acid reflux, put tb sugar or stick a carrot in to absorb some of the acid. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made it without sausage. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very thin sauce and just wasn't to my families taste. In our opinion - too salty, too runny and lacked depth of flavor. Possible some more spices and only puree and not the actual diced tomatoes? Hey, just one person's review - thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Made this while pregnant, froze it into serving-size portions, and have had MANY quick pasta dishes that taste like I simmered the sauce all day! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
i made a half recipe as directed with the exception of using 2 T. dried basil & simmering the sauce (covered) an additional hour. we thought this tasted good served with cheese manicotti. thanks reidtobe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Great recipe! I didn't use the onion and instead of the tomato paste/tomatoes/water I used 2 jars of tomato sauce. The sausage, basil, and garlic really play well together. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Nice pasta dish but way too much oil. I sauted my onion, garlic and one finely grated carrot (anyway to get extra nutrition into my finicky boys) in about 2 tbsps. of oil and 1 tbsp. of butter. I also added 2 tsp. each of oregano and thyme and 1/3 c. of half and half for a sligtly rose type sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
This was excellent! My husband was asking me to make something like this that he ate a lot as a kid. Well it fit the bill! He said it was wonderful. The only thing I changed was that I sliced the sausage into 1 inch chunks because that's how my hubby likes it. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
sausage is a yummy spiy italian food- my family loves italian (they are actually italian) so this is a nice dish to prepare for family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This was delicious! I like that there a not that many ingredients. I've always been "sauce" challenged, but this was great. I just made a few changes: I omitted the paste, used crushed tomatoes instead of whole peeled ones, and added just a touch of oregano. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TORONTODENISE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States