Tomato Sauce with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This was really good. In fact it may very well become my go to sauce recipe. No fresh Basil int the fridge so I used the appropriate equivalent amount of Penzy's dried basil and a tablespoon of minced fresh parsley. I used Hunt's tomatoes and Hunts tomato paste and good locally made Italian sausage. This recipe needs nothing extra. I didn't need to add sugar, any other seasoning, and it did not even need the final slat and pepper. Good recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
It is SO oily. Guests are about to arrive and I'm scrambling around trying to find something to get the oil off the top. I even cooked the sausage separately and added it back in using a slotted spoon and it's still so greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a version of this using mushrooms. I made it over a campfire though so it was a little different. Overall a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This is very similar to a the sauce I have made for years. Decided to try the recipe as made here for a change of pace. Not impressed, not enough spices, too much meat, and after cooking for 3 hours still too watery. I sugest using crushed tomatoes instead of whole, less water, thicker sauce and you don't have to mess with crushing them. I add about a tablespoon of oregano and crushed red peppers for more flavor. I also add a can or tomato sauce instead of water, gives you a thicker sauce. OK recipe as a base, but very easy to improve upon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a 10+. Added Italian seasoning and oregano - may added some hot red pepper flakes next time. Really loved this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was good to make for a quick 30 minute sauce. I scaled this recipe down to 8 servings, used ground sage sausage and pureed my tomatoes (daughter doesn't like them). I like adding a bay leaf for additional flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I have been with this site for two years now and NEVER have I felt compelled to give a recipe a bad review. I'm very sorry for having to do that now,... DO NOT follow this recipe exactly and be ready to do many changes! Way too much onions and garlic! I'm really happy I altered it and did not lose my ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
This sauce is great. I added some mushrooms and a cup of canned tomato sauce instead of water. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Almost perfect! I halved the recipe but put a whole can of paste and about 3-4 tablespoons of oil. I think there is too much garlic (and I love garlic) and too much onion. In my half a recipe I would use only a quarter to half an onion and maybe 3-4 cloves of garlic. It was delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used this sauce recipe for my lasagna so I modified a little bit because I wanted it really thick. One of my cans of tomato sauce was also the kind with garlic and basil already added in and for the thickness I didn't add the water. Added more oregeno to it too but otherwise it was one of the best sauces I made as my family usually likes Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States