Tomato Sauce with Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is great! I married into an Italian family, and have always been lovingly teased about my use of 'canned' sauce. I decided to try this as my first attempt at 'home-made' sauce and invited the in-laws over for dinner (think Marie of Everybody Loves Raymond!) LOL! They were impressed and my kids gave it a 'two thumbs up'! The only difference is I used dried basil, added a bit of oregano, and a lil more garlic. This is super easy to make and even better.......it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
Very good, I use this recipe all the time but add 2 tbsp italian seasoning and 1 tsp oregano. I usually double the recipe, add 1 12oz can of paste and 4 cups of water and let it cook down until slightly thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This was a great change of pace recipe and quick to fix. Will definately make this again. Did not rate child reaction as I don't have any kids in the house anymore but imagine they would probably like it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was good to make for a quick 30 minute sauce. I scaled this recipe down to 8 servings, used ground sage sausage and pureed my tomatoes (daughter doesn't like them). I like adding a bay leaf for additional flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a 10+. Added Italian seasoning and oregano - may added some hot red pepper flakes next time. Really loved this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
This was excellent sauce. My kids don't like the chunks of tomatoes, so I used tomatoe sauce instead. No need to alter this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I used this sauce recipe for my lasagna so I modified a little bit because I wanted it really thick. One of my cans of tomato sauce was also the kind with garlic and basil already added in and for the thickness I didn't add the water. Added more oregeno to it too but otherwise it was one of the best sauces I made as my family usually likes Prego.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
This sauce had too much acid in it. It gave my husband and I heartburn. I wanted to try something different than my own sauce, so I gave this a shot. If you have acid reflux, put tb sugar or stick a carrot in to absorb some of the acid. Sorry for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I made it without sausage. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made a version of this using mushrooms. I made it over a campfire though so it was a little different. Overall a GREAT recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Tomato Sauce I

Fresh homemade tomato sauce is easy and deeply flavorful.

Cherry Tomato Sauce with Penne

An incredibly quick-and-easy pasta sauce with toasted garlic & cherry tomatoes.

Chef John’s Tomato Sauce

See how Chef John makes his delicious, all-purpose tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States