Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Am I the only one who found this way WAY too salty? I looked at the recipe three times, it sounded like a lot. Guess I should have trusted my instincts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
We left out the celery and added some lime juice (3 limes for this recipe), left out the oregano and added some cumin... so maybe it's not the same recipe at all. Basically we were looking for ratios and this one came closest to what we had on hand. It was good, but not hot enough for our liking. Great veggie/tomato taste, but the next batch we're going to increase the amount of peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Awesome recipe once you have made your own you will never go back to jared ones thanks for sharing this great one we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englehart, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Not impressed at all. I only used to celery stalks and it was still to much. Not much flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
First off, one can easily make this using fresh tomatoes (about 4), 2 cloves garlic, cilantro, 2 hot peppers & put it all in a blender...add whatever ingrediants you like except celery and make it as hot or mild as you please. My mistake was making this...went back to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
The only thing I did different was reduce the celery by half. I measured the tomatoes AFTER peeling and seeding. (Well I measured 1 lb and then guessed what 5 lbs would be) Made 12 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I read all the reviews before making this recipe and decided to leave out the celery altogether. (I'm not crazy about celery!!) I also added 1/2 cup of lime juice (freshly squeezed). I used Beefeater and Early Girl tomatoes instead of Roma's. I like very spicy salsa so I put up 3 pints using the recipe and then added 2 jalapenos (with seeds) and 2 Haberneros (with seeds) and additional 1/4 c. of lime juice. Very spicy!!!! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I made 1/4 of this recipe for a trial run. Now I wish I had of done the full about. It is great! I plan on making more and can it. Because our family loves a good salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I added 2 TBSP pico di gallo con limon , 2 TBSP comino and did not seed the jalapenos ..LOVE the veggies, including the celery, ran them through a couple of pulses in the food processor....Yum, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Yummy but I cut back on the celery to half the amount asked for. The green chilis gave it a great flavor. I thought it would be too hot so I cut back on the jalapeno, I should have used everything. My recipe was very flavorful but very mild.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States