Tomato-Rich Fish Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This is absolutely outstanding. I add an 8 oz can of clams in the juice, and i also find that I like it better without the beans. It doesn't need it! Tilapia works beautifully for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I made this soup for my wife and I. It really turned out good. I used two cans of fire roasted diced tomatoes, added chopped broccoli and carots, pepper flakes and used 2 Tbl. of cooking sherry instead of the dry red wine (didn't have any). I also let it sit overnight in the frig to let the flavors combine. This is definitely worth making again. Greg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I had to tweak this recipe, as I most always do because I try to work with what I have on hand (so as to not let anything end up being unused and forgotten for too long and left to waste)... We didn't have any bell peppers (shame), so I substituted about 1/3 of a bag of peas instead. I also had only one bottle of clam juice. I had no fresh herbs to put in, but I just used Herbs de Provence and that's just as good as anything. I had about half a cup of Moroccan oil-cured olives, so I used those... I didn't have any beans and I used canned tuna, but nevertheless, despite all that, it still turned out fantastic. I added the juice of a lemon too, of course, and some spice (probably Cholula, cayenne and/or curry, but I forget).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe. We tried this because we had some leftover tuna, crab, shrimp and oysters from a night we made our own sushi. We put it all in and pretty much followed the recipe only leaving out the fennel and olives which we did not have on hand. Came out great. I imagine any combination of fish would work fine in this dish. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Clemente, California, USA
Living In: Corry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was really very good! I, like all cooks, made a few changes, however. I didn't use fennel see, but instead used anise seed because it is essentially the same thing, but can be purchased for much cheaper in the Mexican food isle. I also used a can of clams in place of one of the bottles of juice (again for financial reasons). I added the juice from the can, and added the minced clams 2 minutes before serving. I also used sun dried tomatos packed in oil because I couldn't find the other kind at my home supermarket. Finally, I added the zest of one mandarin orange at the same time as the other spices. This really added a lot to this delicious stew. My husband was really impressed =).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this for my wife, followed directions and it was not good at all. Save your time & money!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M_low

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
If you like paella-type dishes you'll probably like this. I personally disliked it, but I had to substitute for spices I didn't have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
This soup was very easy to prepare and delicious. Pulling from items I had on hand, I used sun-dried tomatoes in oil chopped fine, and I did not puree them in the blender. I did not have a green pepper, so I used 1 diced red pepper and 2 finely diced jalapenos. I also used canned, fire-roasted diced tomatoes, 1 t of dried rosemary and 1 T of dried thyme with fresh tilapia. This stew was excellent, and is now in my regular rotation. My husband gives this a four because he doesn't care for olives. The sissy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was very good, but too much fennel. I would try 1/2 the next time. I also substituted 1 tsp of dried herbs for each tbl of of fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
This soup was easy to make and smelled wonderful while stewing. When I first ate it, I thought it had too much fennel and made a mental note to use less next time. Meanwhile, my husband thought there was too much rosemary (I would've preferred to use basil if I could've gotten fresh), and I have to admit we didn't actually measure the rosemary, but we weren't too far off from 4T. It was still great though, just strongly herbiferized. The good news, however, is that the soup was perfect the next day, just what I'd hoped for. I honestly think it compares to the celebrated name-sake chowder served in one of Ann Arbor's more swanky restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food&Drink

Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Sexy Fish Stew

Make a simple, delicious white fish stew with leeks, fennel, and potatoes.

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States