Tomato Rice Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Really liked this. There are so many things you can do with it! I had spaghetti sauce left over so used it and paste, added onions, carrots, garlic, bellpepper and left out the spinach (cuz it was frozen solid, oops) and the potatoes (too much starch). It was fantastic and my 2 year old loved it! Used sweet basil, italian seasonings. Bet it'd be good with egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosewolf

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alto, Georgia, USA
Living In: Baldwin, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VALISME
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great mix of flavors! Super easy to prepare. I added onion and garlic powder, and substituted lime for lemon juice (what I had on hand) and collard greens for spinach. Real hearty for a cool fall evening. Might add additional veggies next time... carrots, squash, peppers...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a guideline for a last-day-before-payday meal to clean out the fridge and was quite pleased with the results. I started out the alterations with 1/2 c finely chopped onion in about 3 tbsp butter in the bottom of the stock pot and proceeded to add whatever was open and needed to be used in the kitchen. I substituted chicken stock for water, used about 12 small yukon gold potatoes and added kidney beans, lots of black pepper, 1/2 tsp of chili powder and about 1/2 c of red wine from the bottom of the bottle - all of which combined with the recipe to make a nicely-flavored soup. The soup is quite hearty, filling and was even better on day two as lunch. I was pleasantly surprised with the results and recommend this recipe as a guideline that can be liberally altered to your own tastes. I may even try some chicken next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misserin13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was a hearty dish and I enjoyed the flavor, but it required more water than it called for. The water completely reduced before the potatoes had cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
There was way too much rice in this recipe! I added two extra cups of water, and it was still too thick. I would decrease the rice next time, and add some more flavorful ingredients. I think I would have liked it better with less carb-heavy ingredients, and more vegetables. This would make it into more of a stew; as it was it was a rice-and-potatoes main/side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEPHITEGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
I thought this had a very good base- I didn't have regular basil- so I used Sweet Basil instead- and it tasted great. I had to add more water before I added the spinach and stewed tomatoes- but all in all- very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOUNTSTARS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powhatan, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I've made this a couple times now.The first time I thought it tasted quite good but the last time it was very bland.What I did to add some flavor was to add a teaspoon of butter to my bowl.One thing I'll do next time would be to use chopped spinach,the whole leaf just makes it all stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
The rice stew wasn't bad at all. I thought that it tasted better the second day. I would suggest adding the spinach only after simmering. It loses colour when it has been simmered for too long. I would suggest cooking the rice until it tenders before adding the potatoes as everybody thought the rice was still hard while the potatoes were too soft. It had a nice taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Tomato-Curry Lentil Stew

See how to make a classic curried lentil stew with tomatoes and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States