Tomato Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
My family loved this recipe. Even my 3 year old twins. The only change I made was I added a can of corn with the juice to it. The sweetness of the corn balanced out the acidity of the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I doubled the broth. This soup was quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
One of the best tasting soups ever! For a vegetarian meal I left out the scallops and used a homemade veggie broth. I also changed to brown rice (because that's what I had). I had to add 1 more cup of broth and it still turns out very thick but my hubby and I prefer it that way. For a bit more flavour I doubled the basil, so tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoeDisco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
My wife insists on 5 stars but she is not yet ready for the scallops! I added a bay leaf, two strips of finely chopped green pepper. I used a 10 ounce can of condensed fat-free chicken consomme (don't forget to add one can of water) plus one more can of hot water with one heaping teaspoon of chicken broth powder (don't add any more salt). It made the soup more liquid and less stew-like. This is now my wife's favorite Tomato Rice soup (after her mother's of course!!!). It tastes even better the next day after being refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very good! perfect for the rainy day or chilly evening. This would be good with any sea food configuration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I made this into a creamy soup. I blended the tomatoes, used 1 can of chicken broth, and 2 c skim milk. I also cooked the veggies longer until they got soft tender. I omitted the scallops and the soup is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Muskegon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LISABGOLD
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This was really good. I added some garlic to the vegs. Instead of 2 cups chicken broth I used 3/4 white wine and the rest chicken broth. I added about a Tbsp of lemon juice before adding the scallops. I didn't find this thick at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent!!! Needed a meat-free dish quickly for the first Friday in Lent, and by doing an ingredient search on this site for what I had on hand - scallops and basil - came up with this. I was a little nervous, but it is outstanding! Hubby raved; I already can't wait for lunch tomorrow so i can have leftovers. Filling, delicious, and the scallops add such an elegant touch. You could serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was SOOOO good and really healthy. I by used quinoa instead of rice and added some garlic with the veggies in the beginning. I also threw in some spinach and lemon juice at the end. I used frozen scallops because that is all I had and it turned out great. Really solid lunch recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Great recipe! Quick, tasty and healthy. I made some modifications - I added a few minced garlic cloves to the olive oil and I pureed the tomatoes in a blender before adding to the veggies/stock mixture - it gives the soup a nice texture. I used peeled shrimp instead of scallops. (Next time I think I'll try spooning on some lump crabmeat before serving!) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States