Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
We loved this recipe. We made a few minor changes by deleting the fennel and using diced tomatoes instead of sauce. I also did not use the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe was yummy. I served it over basmati rice and my husband loved it! I too left out the fennel (neither one of us like it), and used stewed tomatoes instead of sauce. I seasoned the chops prior to cooking and left everything else exactly as the recipe said. It will be on my new menu rotation! I would like to add that if the pork is tough, it was probably frozen prior to cooking. Freezing meat denatures the protein of the meat and makes it tough. I suggest that for the most tender and flavorful dishes, use fresh meat. This is especially true for steaks, roasts, chicken breasts and chops (solid cuts of meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
378 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Hot~n~Divine
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this tonight, it was a very easy and tasty dish. I followed the suggestions of the previous posters and utilized a can of diced tomatoes with my 6 cutlets. I didn't have any fennel, so I had to omit that as well. I loved all the spices and would recommend seasoning your pork loins before browning. I also added two cloves of crushed garlic while cooking the sliced onions. I also added a bit of Italian salad dressing while it simmered. Next time I won't add the water either, although it didn't hurt the taste. I made a side of rice, with green beans and bisquits. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Hot~n~Divine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Very simple, quick and delicious. I followed recipe exactly except for decreasing the amount of chili powder and it was still very spicy. I am rating it 4 stars because this should be called SPICY Tomato Pork Loin Chops. I served it with the boxed Pasta Roni - Angel Hair Pasta with Parmesean cheese -it was a great compliment and absorbed some of the heat!!!! Salad was another "cool" addition! I will make this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good, and easy. And, thankfully, a good pork chop recipe not so heavy in sugar that my diet can't handle it! It's always nice to find healthy and tasty in one dish. I spiced the pork chops before browning, as per some other suggestions I saw a couple of people called this tough--- I really have no clue how that could be with all the liquids in the recipe, unless they spent too long browning or had freezer-burned chops. Mine were VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love this recipe! It's one of my favorites. I especially love the fennel - I double it. I crush the fennel and add it with the sugar when I cook the onion. I double the tomato sauce and add a can of diced tomato, substituting the juice for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This is not a good dish at all. The pork came out tough. The taste was all tomato. We all agreed, over dinner, that we would not make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I haven't made this yet, but it is almost identical to the Old West Style Pork Chops recipe I was given over 30 years ago and is a family favorite. Preheat oven to 350. I use 1 can diced tomatoes, juice and all, fill the tomato can with water, swirl it around a bit and add to skillet. Put 1 c. rice in a casserole dish; stir in the liquids from the skillet; top with browned chops and bake until all of the liquid has been absorbed - about 45 minutes. This works well in a crock pot, too; add a second can of diced tomatoes and cook on low 8-10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cox Tuhey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
Very good and very easy. I really liked the taste of the crushed fennel. I left out the red pepper flakes, my chili powder was spicy enough. I did add more onion and sugar (just made it a full tsp.) Every one loved it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I used to make this dish, but baked the pork chops in the oven, we were a family of seven, then removed excess grease then added the tomato mixture without the fennel.It was a favorite of our family. I used a can of whole tomatoes broken up by hand instead of the canned sauce and added !/2 a bay leaf. They liked having this with crispy homade fried potatoes, just remove the excees fat at the end. To make the pork chops stay flat I usually make a few small slits on the edges. Usually served a salad with it to complete the meal. I tried adding the fennel to half the recipe and that was tasty too. I am now a household of one, so I can make it in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States