Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made the recipe as stated, except I didnt have fennel seeds, and even if I did I would not use them.. I had 3 already thin pork chops. I cut back on red pepper,and I had some noodles on the side with the sauce on top. I thought this dish was tasty. I enjoyed it and made it when hubby was not home,he is not a pork chop fan and I m pretty sure he would say nay to tomato sauce on them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a tricky recipe for me my chops must have been large cause this did not fit well in my large skillet!! Backup was a hot oven and Pyrex. Came out fine but won't be a repeat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I make almost the same thing except I put the Pork Chops in my slow cooker and use no fennel and diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I also add green beans and cut up potatoes in the slow cooker and have a whole meal. The pork chops get so tender they can be cut with a fork. This is one of our favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I just made it and it was perfect! I served it over chicken garlic couscous and it worked together wonderfully. Plus, the lunch was ready in 30 min, which is awesome. I omitted fennel seeds because I couldn't find any on the shelves and replaced tomato sauce with tomato paste mixed with water for the same reason. I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. The meat came out very soft and yummy. Next time I would only slightly cut on pepper flakes (came out a little too spicy for my taste) and find that fennel, because it really looks like it would add depth to the dish. Don't forget to add water occasionally to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
When I was a kid, our family cooked all fish in a similar fashion. Filets were placed in a shallow pan, covered with stewed tomatoes, onion, and bacon slices and then broiled. It produced some liquid, and was very good. No strong flavors of seasoning like the recipe, but similar cooking ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas Park, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I didn't have time to read any reviews but when I saw the photo it looked liked diced (stewed) tomatoes so that's what I used. Because of that I didn't need water. It was pleasantly spicey. I will definitley make this again and try different kinds of meat. My husband loved it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was exceptional. I did end up baking mine in the oven on 350 degrees for 30 min. I also added a little parm cheese. Served with linguine and salad. Very good and nice kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I thought this was recipe was okay, but not great. I cut the chili powder down to 1/4 teaspoon and it still was spicy. I did coat the pork with the spice mixture which seemed good, but I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was delicious! I followed the recipe (almost) as is since this was the first time I made it. I used about 1.5lbs of thin cut boneless pork loin chops (6 total). The one other change that I made was to add kale since I had some in my frig that needed to be used. I followed the directions, but added the kale after cooking the chops covered for 10 min. I covered the pot for another 5 min until the kale had wilted and then uncovered for the final 10 min. It turned out so good! I definitely will cook it again! I love that it is mainly a pantry dish and only uses 1 pot- these are both essentials as the working mother of 4 school aged children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by triciav1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My family, consisting of three generations of males, liked this recipe, includng the 20 yr. old who loves spicey and the 80 yr. old who generally avoids spice. A pan of corn bread went will with it, good for dipping in the sauce. I followed the recipe closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States