Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made this recipe almost exactly as offered omitting the chili powder as I just didn't have it in the pantry. I did add a couple of light shakes of cayenne powder for a small hit of heat. The fennel seed imparts a sophisticated taste to the dish. I did use a can of seasoned (basil/garlic) tomatoes instead of the water. The dish was served over a bed of rice with peas on the side. This is an excellent dish that was easy to make and has a great presentation. I did add one cubed yellow squash for texture and color. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Will try it again with half the fennel and chili powder. Maybe eliminate the water and use diced tomatoes in lieu of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Much too much chili powder, not spicy (hot) at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I made the recipe as stated, except I didnt have fennel seeds, and even if I did I would not use them.. I had 3 already thin pork chops. I cut back on red pepper,and I had some noodles on the side with the sauce on top. I thought this dish was tasty. I enjoyed it and made it when hubby was not home,he is not a pork chop fan and I m pretty sure he would say nay to tomato sauce on them .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This was a tricky recipe for me my chops must have been large cause this did not fit well in my large skillet!! Backup was a hot oven and Pyrex. Came out fine but won't be a repeat for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I make almost the same thing except I put the Pork Chops in my slow cooker and use no fennel and diced tomatoes instead of tomato sauce. I also add green beans and cut up potatoes in the slow cooker and have a whole meal. The pork chops get so tender they can be cut with a fork. This is one of our favorite meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I just made it and it was perfect! I served it over chicken garlic couscous and it worked together wonderfully. Plus, the lunch was ready in 30 min, which is awesome. I omitted fennel seeds because I couldn't find any on the shelves and replaced tomato sauce with tomato paste mixed with water for the same reason. I also added 1/2 tsp garlic powder. The meat came out very soft and yummy. Next time I would only slightly cut on pepper flakes (came out a little too spicy for my taste) and find that fennel, because it really looks like it would add depth to the dish. Don't forget to add water occasionally to avoid burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
When I was a kid, our family cooked all fish in a similar fashion. Filets were placed in a shallow pan, covered with stewed tomatoes, onion, and bacon slices and then broiled. It produced some liquid, and was very good. No strong flavors of seasoning like the recipe, but similar cooking ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mclean, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas Park, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I didn't have time to read any reviews but when I saw the photo it looked liked diced (stewed) tomatoes so that's what I used. Because of that I didn't need water. It was pleasantly spicey. I will definitley make this again and try different kinds of meat. My husband loved it, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was exceptional. I did end up baking mine in the oven on 350 degrees for 30 min. I also added a little parm cheese. Served with linguine and salad. Very good and nice kick to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States