Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Served with a side of rotini. Added a can of fire-roasted tomatoes for extra sauce. Some strange flavors going on. It was okay, but I wouldn't cook it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEF MARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This recipe was good. My only issue was that the meat was a little dry but I figure that is probably human error rather than any problem with the recipe. I served it with brown rice, complemented well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rahrah14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Signal Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This recipe was awesome although next time I will make the following tweaks: - Triple the amount of sugar - Use 1 tsp instead of 2 of Chili Powder - Cut out the red pepper My husband and I are big fans of spicy food, but this was so hot, we could barely get it down! We can't wait to try it without the overbearing spice, I bet it will be awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
If you like black licorice then you might like this dish because that is exactly what crushed fennel seeds smell and taste like. The sauce had very little immediate taste and too strong of an after taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I thought it was great. I didn't use fennel because I didn't have any, and used Italian style stewed tomatoes with oregano and basil. I also would cut down on the red pepper because it was VERY SPICY! I love it, it was overwhelming at times. Great, easy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I cooked this recipe exactly as written, and it was great. If you drop ingredients, like the fennel, you do not have the same recipe anymore. I would suggest that you try the recipe just like it is, then alter it the next time if you need to. My whole family liked this one, even my picky 11 year old. Use fresh meat and it wont turn out dry, unless you cook it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe was good. I am not a big pork fan, and I did find the meat a little tough. The flavor was delicious though. We actually added 5 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), and used canned tomato's instead of tomato sauce. I would certainly recommend that change if you are going to try this recipe. We also omitted the water, as the canned tomato's contained enough. Overall, a tasty dish, I think I will try it with Chicken next time... mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stpgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was very good! I substituted fresh tomatoes,fresh oregano,basil,chives and garlic. Also added lots more water so the chops could braise. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Yummo! I made this recipe and took the suggestion of precious reviewers and altered it a tad. I substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce, omitted the fennel seeds (didn't have any), and used powdered hot sauce instead of chili powder because that's what I had....my husband loved it! It was easy to make and had great flavor. I served it with egg noddles and steamed broccoli- very good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe was yummy. I served it over basmati rice and my husband loved it! I too left out the fennel (neither one of us like it), and used stewed tomatoes instead of sauce. I seasoned the chops prior to cooking and left everything else exactly as the recipe said. It will be on my new menu rotation! I would like to add that if the pork is tough, it was probably frozen prior to cooking. Freezing meat denatures the protein of the meat and makes it tough. I suggest that for the most tender and flavorful dishes, use fresh meat. This is especially true for steaks, roasts, chicken breasts and chops (solid cuts of meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States