Tomato Pork Loin Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I cooked this recipe exactly as written, and it was great. If you drop ingredients, like the fennel, you do not have the same recipe anymore. I would suggest that you try the recipe just like it is, then alter it the next time if you need to. My whole family liked this one, even my picky 11 year old. Use fresh meat and it wont turn out dry, unless you cook it too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe was good. I am not a big pork fan, and I did find the meat a little tough. The flavor was delicious though. We actually added 5 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), and used canned tomato's instead of tomato sauce. I would certainly recommend that change if you are going to try this recipe. We also omitted the water, as the canned tomato's contained enough. Overall, a tasty dish, I think I will try it with Chicken next time... mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stpgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This was very good! I substituted fresh tomatoes,fresh oregano,basil,chives and garlic. Also added lots more water so the chops could braise. Very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Yummo! I made this recipe and took the suggestion of precious reviewers and altered it a tad. I substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the tomato sauce, omitted the fennel seeds (didn't have any), and used powdered hot sauce instead of chili powder because that's what I had....my husband loved it! It was easy to make and had great flavor. I served it with egg noddles and steamed broccoli- very good. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe was yummy. I served it over basmati rice and my husband loved it! I too left out the fennel (neither one of us like it), and used stewed tomatoes instead of sauce. I seasoned the chops prior to cooking and left everything else exactly as the recipe said. It will be on my new menu rotation! I would like to add that if the pork is tough, it was probably frozen prior to cooking. Freezing meat denatures the protein of the meat and makes it tough. I suggest that for the most tender and flavorful dishes, use fresh meat. This is especially true for steaks, roasts, chicken breasts and chops (solid cuts of meat).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I love this recipe! It's one of my favorites. I especially love the fennel - I double it. I crush the fennel and add it with the sugar when I cook the onion. I double the tomato sauce and add a can of diced tomato, substituting the juice for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZWILDCATFAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingman, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
I cut this recipe in half and cooked it according to recipe directions with the exception of the tomato sauce and water. I too, thought that a 1/2 can of diced tomatoes would be better. Me and my husband loved it. The fennel gave it a wonderful aroma and taste. I will be adding this to our repertoire of favorite recipes. Thank you Mlyin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
this was excellent. I used pork tenderloin rather than loin chops, and I substituted fresh fennel (1 cup) for the seed. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
The sauce was tasty but the pork was very bland. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Very good, and easy. And, thankfully, a good pork chop recipe not so heavy in sugar that my diet can't handle it! It's always nice to find healthy and tasty in one dish. I spiced the pork chops before browning, as per some other suggestions I saw a couple of people called this tough--- I really have no clue how that could be with all the liquids in the recipe, unless they spent too long browning or had freezer-burned chops. Mine were VERY moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States