Tomato Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
i had no idea how to cook pork chops and i found this recipe and i thought i would give it a whirl. well my husband and i loved it, it was so easy to make and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
Real bland meal, no punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
This was a very very bland recipe. My family found that the only thing salvageable was the pork chops themselves. It needs something like corn and some seasonings. Cheese would help a lot as well. I do not think we will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I used to eat this all the time at my mother in laws house and it was so good for how simple it was. The key is to top the pork with the onions from the start, and to use something very flavorful like a vidalia... and LOTS of salt and pepper. I also like to put the rice more around the chops so it soaks up the juices and flavors... but be warned, that makes for mushier rice. My mother in law has started putting in under-done rice so that it finishes in the oven with the pork juices. Also great. Either way, this is a good recipe, it just needs tweaking, but if you can get it to work, it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
I am not very good at grilling or frying foods but I love to eat pork chops as does my husband. This recipe was perfect as it aloud us to eat chops with out me burning them! It was so easy to make and my husband really enjoyed it. I found the meat a little bland but very enjoyable. I did not have a can of tomatoes so I used a jar of pasta sauce that I had as well as some oregano, basil, Mrs Dash and Paprika. I also added some garlic to the chops when they were being cooked on their own. My husband said I could make it anytime. The 2nd time I made this I added some Worcestershire sauce and it made all the difference - no bland taste to be found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I added a green pepper and onion...mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I read all the reviews and decided to spruce it up on my first try. My wife and I shop at a meat market and purchase the seasoned pork chops. Before the prebake I splashed on some worchester sauce. Then I only half cooked the rice cuz I figured it would continue to cook with the chops and we don't like mushy rice........ I then added somemore worchester sauce, before adding minced garlic, onions and red and green bell peppers and rice. then I topped it all with stewed itialian tomatoes that has the garlic, basil and oregon already added and a can of tomato sauce ----instead of the whole canned tomatoes. Then I topped it all with some italian seasoning and a splash of garlic salt. WOW!!!!!!!!! It was da bomb a definite keeper It was very tasty n tender and the rice was great..........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mark arnold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bedford, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
I didn't use the tomato but the cheese alone was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I actually put it all togther raw and cooked it for 50 minutes. It turned out fantastic! I added some dash on the pork and put the onion right on top of the it. All the juices melded together and it was great. I served it for my brother in law and sister in law. Every last rice was gone. Rave reviews from all. Thnaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I was surprised to see this one, my Mother made this in the '50s I think it came off the box of Uncle Ben's Instant Rice, that is the real secret to the rice coming out perfect e very time, uncooked instant rice sprinkle over the chops and onion then the tomatoes on top. You can used diced tomatoe with flavors or what ever you have. Thanks for the Memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States