Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This dish is a HUGE hit whenever it is served!! I have begun using canned diced tomatoes and the result has been excellent! Whether you use fresh or canned tomatoes, be sure to eliminate as much juice as you can. This will ensure that your pie will slice nicely and not be too runny! This dish tastes so much like deep-dish pizza!! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I substituted sour cream for the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Great taste and way to use up our garden overflow! Tasted like a pizza or BLT, can't decide! It was runny, despite my chopping tomatoes at room temp, draining them in a colander and then on paper towels; but - they are tomatoes after all! Tomatoes are watery! I actually prefer more of a tomato quiche (basically tomato pie with eggs) but this was a nice alternative. I let this set up but it still kind of fell apart when sliced. I diced my tomatoes and onions (yea, I think adding onions is a MUST!), maybe next time I will do slices but I thought diced made it easier to cut and serve. Next time I will use only 4 tomatoes or 5 smaller ones; 5 tomatoes were just too much! This is best served hot, right after the cooling period. I added more basil and it was well received. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This was a fabulous yummy pie and i don't even like tomatoes all that much! It disappeared in one sitting and my family absolutely loved it. Use the freshest tomatoes you can find for best results. I substituted fresh chopped basil which i think made a difference (and i added lots of it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I love this recipe. Am using the last of this year's tomato crop today. The only change I make is to add about 1/4 cup of the cheese to the bottom of the crust before I start layering the tomatoes...helps keep the bottom crust from getting soggy. Oh, and I also add a little oregano to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzihomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I doubled this recipe and made two pies. I read all the reviews and made adjustments accordingly. I used 3/4 cup of sour cream and 3/4 of cup of mayo for my two pies. I was afraid of the overwhelming taste of mayo that some people experienced and I'm glad I replaced some of it with sour cream. Everyone that ate this really enjoyed it but I was not exceptionally thrilled with it. The mayo with the mozzarella cheese was odd to me. I really tasted the mayo even though I replaced some of it with sour cream. I used fresh basil leaves which I left whole. I added some minced fresh garlic. I didn't peel the tomatoes. I sliced them thin and layed them on a cooling rack and sprinkled both sides with salt so that they could drain. I then patted them with a lot of paper towels. I used probably half a roll of paper towels. I had no problems at all with the pie being runny. Before layering the tomatoes in the pie crust I brushed the bottoms of the pie crust with egg whites and cooked the pie crusts for about 10 minutes. I then sprinkled some mozzarella cheese at the bottom before I started layering the tomatoes, basil, garlic and so on. Topped with the mayo/sour cream/ mozzarella and baked for about 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Waited about 30 minutes before I sliced into it. This pie was not runny or soggy in the least. I will probably make again but might leave out the mayo completely. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
I did not care for the topping, it tasted too much like mayonaisse, the tomato part was good, but did not like the topping, neither did my husband. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
Tried it last night and it was great! The first thing my husband asked was if there was "meat" in it but after he tasted it and I gave him my "its summer and you are supposed to eat light", he was okay with it. Even my son enjoyed it and he is "picky". I did use "italian seasoning" instead of just the basil. Will definately keep this for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
Delicious! I made this for my husband and he does not really like tomatoes. The pie was gone in one sitting....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This was really good, it reminded us of pizza. I will definitely make it again..maybe even add things like olives or mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States