Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2000
What a excellent way to use fresh tomatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
This was a fabulous yummy pie and i don't even like tomatoes all that much! It disappeared in one sitting and my family absolutely loved it. Use the freshest tomatoes you can find for best results. I substituted fresh chopped basil which i think made a difference (and i added lots of it!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
Delicious! I made this for my husband and he does not really like tomatoes. The pie was gone in one sitting....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2001
Tried it last night and it was great! The first thing my husband asked was if there was "meat" in it but after he tasted it and I gave him my "its summer and you are supposed to eat light", he was okay with it. Even my son enjoyed it and he is "picky". I did use "italian seasoning" instead of just the basil. Will definately keep this for future use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
I did not care for the topping, it tasted too much like mayonaisse, the tomato part was good, but did not like the topping, neither did my husband. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This was really good, it reminded us of pizza. I will definitely make it again..maybe even add things like olives or mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Very tasty (I used fresh basil), but it was REALLY soupy. I might have had too many tomatoes--they were pretty big--or maybe I should have let them drain a bit. Would try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This recipe was alot better than we thought it would be. A little runny but had great flavor. My husband ate more than half the pie himself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
What a unique dish! It's soooo yummy, especially with fresh tomatoes and basil from the yard! This tastes like a pot pie/quiche sorta concoction. The one thing I did differently was due to an accident. I forgot to add the fresh basil leaves so I had to dig up all the mayo 'n cheese to try to get the basil down with the tomatoes. SO I wound up with the basil some tomatoes and the topping jumbled up together...but it looked REALLY pretty and yummy when it was all cooked up cuz u could see bits of tomato and basil poking through the cheese! Add lots of basil. LOTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I am a huge tomato fan and absolutely love this recipe!! I used fresh basil (the whole bunch) and substituted mozzarella for the cheddar- and just added the whole bag (an extra 1/2 c or so)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States