Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I gave this one a shot because it had so many good reviews. I had my doubts because based on the ingredients and methods of preperation it didn't sound quite right. Well, live and learn. Not even my boyfriend cared for it, and he'll eat anything. But use your own descretion, perhaps this just isn't a dish for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
Oh so yummy!! This was gone in minutes. The seasonings really make this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sanger, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
Great taste and way to use up our garden overflow! Tasted like a pizza or BLT, can't decide! It was runny, despite my chopping tomatoes at room temp, draining them in a colander and then on paper towels; but - they are tomatoes after all! Tomatoes are watery! I actually prefer more of a tomato quiche (basically tomato pie with eggs) but this was a nice alternative. I let this set up but it still kind of fell apart when sliced. I diced my tomatoes and onions (yea, I think adding onions is a MUST!), maybe next time I will do slices but I thought diced made it easier to cut and serve. Next time I will use only 4 tomatoes or 5 smaller ones; 5 tomatoes were just too much! This is best served hot, right after the cooling period. I added more basil and it was well received. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2004
Took this to a church potluck and it was rave reviews and passing out the recipe to everyone. Easy and simple this makes a great meal or side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckymc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I am a huge tomato fan and absolutely love this recipe!! I used fresh basil (the whole bunch) and substituted mozzarella for the cheddar- and just added the whole bag (an extra 1/2 c or so)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
What a unique dish! It's soooo yummy, especially with fresh tomatoes and basil from the yard! This tastes like a pot pie/quiche sorta concoction. The one thing I did differently was due to an accident. I forgot to add the fresh basil leaves so I had to dig up all the mayo 'n cheese to try to get the basil down with the tomatoes. SO I wound up with the basil some tomatoes and the topping jumbled up together...but it looked REALLY pretty and yummy when it was all cooked up cuz u could see bits of tomato and basil poking through the cheese! Add lots of basil. LOTS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
This recipe was alot better than we thought it would be. A little runny but had great flavor. My husband ate more than half the pie himself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2001
Very tasty (I used fresh basil), but it was REALLY soupy. I might have had too many tomatoes--they were pretty big--or maybe I should have let them drain a bit. Would try again, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
This was really good, it reminded us of pizza. I will definitely make it again..maybe even add things like olives or mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
I did not care for the topping, it tasted too much like mayonaisse, the tomato part was good, but did not like the topping, neither did my husband. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States