Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
This was great! I brushed egg whites on the pie's bottom before the 10 minute heating part, and I tried both cheddar and mozz cheese, we prefer the mozz. My hub took a whole pie to work and didnt even get to have a piece for himself, everyone else ate it first. I squeezed most of the juice from the tomatoes first, then added a dash of olive oil to them. I also recommend covering the edges of the pie crust with a little tin foil so it doesnt burn. Thanks! I'm adding this to a favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This recipe was DELICIOUS!!!! Left out garlic powder and basil (personal preference), added thinly sliced onions. Happened to have some crisp bacon and threw a little of that in. The taste is incredible! I have to confess it was "juicy", perhaps I didn't let the tomatoes drain enough, but they were fresh from the garden and you know how juicy those are. I just tilted to drain so tomorrow's leftover pie will be a little drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
It sounded good on paper but in reality I was afraid to serve it after I tasted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Fresh basil takes this to a whole different level. Slice the tomatoes thick so they stay somewhat firm. I always add a touch of thinly sliced Vidalia onion or scallion. Tomato Pie for brunch is always a great summer treat with the good homegrown tomatoes! It should not taste like pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALPURV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Good! I did make a few changes. First I used Roma tomatoes as stated in other reviews. After I sliced them, I drained them on a paper towel. I also browned sweet italian sausage, pre baked the crust for a few minutes, omitted the mayo, and used sliced onions and mozzerella cheese. I put cheese on the bottome of crust, then used the sausage. Then layered the onions, tomatoes, and cheese. Using the seasonings inbetween the layers. I am not a tomato lover, but this was really good and will make its way to the menu at least once or twice a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jasper, Texas, USA
Living In: Appleton, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
This dish is a HUGE hit whenever it is served!! I have begun using canned diced tomatoes and the result has been excellent! Whether you use fresh or canned tomatoes, be sure to eliminate as much juice as you can. This will ensure that your pie will slice nicely and not be too runny! This dish tastes so much like deep-dish pizza!! MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
I substituted sour cream for the mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This recipe is EXCELLENT!! Thank you so much for posting it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
great recipe. I add fried and crumbled bacon to mine. delicious in the summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I gave this one a shot because it had so many good reviews. I had my doubts because based on the ingredients and methods of preperation it didn't sound quite right. Well, live and learn. Not even my boyfriend cared for it, and he'll eat anything. But use your own descretion, perhaps this just isn't a dish for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States