Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I used 1/2 light sour cream and 1/2 light mayo...was still too rich for my taste. Might try again adding some other veggies and using less mayo and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I doubled this recipe and made two pies. I read all the reviews and made adjustments accordingly. I used 3/4 cup of sour cream and 3/4 of cup of mayo for my two pies. I was afraid of the overwhelming taste of mayo that some people experienced and I'm glad I replaced some of it with sour cream. Everyone that ate this really enjoyed it but I was not exceptionally thrilled with it. The mayo with the mozzarella cheese was odd to me. I really tasted the mayo even though I replaced some of it with sour cream. I used fresh basil leaves which I left whole. I added some minced fresh garlic. I didn't peel the tomatoes. I sliced them thin and layed them on a cooling rack and sprinkled both sides with salt so that they could drain. I then patted them with a lot of paper towels. I used probably half a roll of paper towels. I had no problems at all with the pie being runny. Before layering the tomatoes in the pie crust I brushed the bottoms of the pie crust with egg whites and cooked the pie crusts for about 10 minutes. I then sprinkled some mozzarella cheese at the bottom before I started layering the tomatoes, basil, garlic and so on. Topped with the mayo/sour cream/ mozzarella and baked for about 30 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Waited about 30 minutes before I sliced into it. This pie was not runny or soggy in the least. I will probably make again but might leave out the mayo completely. Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
The pie cut clean! I drained the tomato all night (I used 2 canned diced tomatoes) and I brushed the pastry with an egg wash and baked it to golden brown before adding tomatoes. I already have a friend asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the good cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Awesome and incredibly easy! I used canned, whole tomatoes (2 28oz. cans) and drained them very well. I topped the tomatoes with a layer of fresh spinach before I put on the cheese mixture. I can't wait to try it with fresh tomatoes. It would be very impressive at a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Very nice dish! If you use Roma tomatoes and take out the seeds, you should not have a soupy mixture like some reviewers had happen. I served this with the Salmon Pie I recipe from this site. Both were very good and a big hit with those partaking of the meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
The crust was soggy but the filling was tasty. If I were to make it again, I wouldn't use so much mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Very nice. I really don't like mayo, so I subbed sour cream. I used about 4 tomatoes, not 5, and the pie wasn't soggy per se, but it was not easy to get out of the pie pan. A bit fragile, so I'm wondering if a stouter (heavier?) dough would be better--like a pizza dough or something. It could have just been the dough recipe I used. At any rate, I put cheese on top of the crust first, then layered the tomatoes. I added some tomatoes on top of the cheese mixture for garnish. I like all the flavors, but the pepper is quite strong, so maybe a bit less next time. I did layer the tomatoes as directed, but probably should have patted them dry after draining as another reviewer did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I love this recipe. Am using the last of this year's tomato crop today. The only change I make is to add about 1/4 cup of the cheese to the bottom of the crust before I start layering the tomatoes...helps keep the bottom crust from getting soggy. Oh, and I also add a little oregano to the spice mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzihomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
My husband and I really loved this recipe. I modified it a bit--used only about 3/4 C of strong cheddar and used yogurt instead of mayonnaise--but it was still rich and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
My family thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I made it exactly by the recipe but mixed cheddar and mozzarella cheese. It was quick, easy and very economical especially now that fresh tomatoes are so abundant. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States