Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
l made this exactly as stated, except l formed it in a loaf pan - l just like cutting slices better than wedges. We enjoyed this, and it was a nice change from just a regular veggie side dish. Next time, l will make this with crisped bacon, for that realy BLT taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
This was really good! Ended up using less basil, because I thought it seemed like too much. I forgot to peel the tomatoes. It was alright anyway, but would have been better if they were peeled. My husband & kids were teasing me as I was making this, because they thought it sounded gross. But in the end, they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Jimmy loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I made this for dinner last night and we loved it. The only problem I had was a soggy bottom crust. I did as others suggested and put a layer of cheese on the bottom before I added the tomatoes but it was still pretty soggy but the tomatoes were fresh from the garden and very juicy. I made a few modifications as well. I used fresh basil which I highly recommend. It's so much more flavorful than dried. I eliminated the salt and used garlic salt instead. I also used an Italian cheese blend instead of the cheddar. I added some fresh Italian herbs to the cheese/mayo mixture, too. I'll definitely make this again even if the crust gets soggy. The flavor is just amazing with all the fresh ingredients. I could have made a meal on just the tomato pie. Thank you NWW for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAROLINAGIRL1226
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe originally called for 5 large tomatoes, but I used 3, and it was perfect. I baked the pie crust for 12 minutes to get the bottom cooked a little more. Everything else is the same. I shredded sharp cheddar cheese (don’t use pre-shredded stuff). I’ve been told that makes a big difference in the taste for some dishes (I’m still testing that theory!). Let it cool for about 10-15 minutes after taking it out of the oven. It is delicious! I have to make myself stop at two slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Both me and my husband loved it! He doesn't like tomatoes, so him liking it is saying something. It didn't remind me of pizza much, but still delicious, and I do agree it would be good with mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Gatesman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is sooo delicious! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden, which I'm sure helped the flavor. I also used fresh basil, chopped and sprinkled in the pie, instead of the dried basil. The cheese and mayo topping may seem strange, but they give the pie a delicious creamy/tangy sauce. Well worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I only needed about three 4 large tomatoes, and I didn't peel them, just sliced them. This had a great taste, but it was really runny. If there was any way to absorb/take away the moisture, it would be a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
A little bland and soggy. Would like to try other's suggestions of canned drained canned diced tomatoes. Thinking about adding mushrooms and onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States