Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
My husband loved this recipe and he usually he doesn't like casserole type dishes. I lightly brushed mayo on each layer of tomatoes(only used 1/4 cup mayo) and add a little cheese between layers. Great recipe and will defiantly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made this lastnight with tomatoes from the garden. I sliced them then took the skin off. I followed the recipe to a T. It was GREAT! Husband does NOT like mayonnaise, never told him there was any in it until he had finished his 4th piece! I am ready to make it again. It was fast and so easy. Thinking about adding some mushrooms, green pepper or onion to it, as it tastes so much like pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Oh! This was really good! I used fresh basil and a mix of mozzarella and cheddar cheeses. I let the salted tomatoes drain, using paper towels and also dipped them into flour (lightly). After pre-baking the crust, I sprinkled a bit of Parmesan cheese onto it, then started layering. I also added a small, thinly sliced red onion. 1/2 mayo and 1/2 sour cream worked great for me. My crust was nice and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Shelton Frazier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgeway, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This as 5 star all the way. I added mushrooms and onions but that was it. Even my meat eating husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe is very close to the one our family used to make, glad I found it! To me, it is cleaner and fresher than the ones burdened down by a ton of cheese and meat. Great taste - a seasonal favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
used a mix of mozzarella-emmenthal-sour cream instead of the mayo-cheddar mix... I suggest not to bake the crust, but put in the oven everything with the filling and also to put a layer of emmenthal on the bottom, before putting the tomatoes, it shall come out better.. anyway, loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Made it as-is and it was DELISH! Didn't have any sogginess issues (thankfully). Next time I think I will add a little bacon and some cooked onions for some added flavor, and will probably sub half of the mayo for sour cream to reduce some of the richness. It really is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This is a wonderful way to use up the overabundance of tomatoes I have in my garden. Of course I did make a few changes (a couple based on other reviews/suggestions). I found the first time I made this that there was so much juice from the tomatoes that I literally had to drain it after we cut a few slices. So the second time I made it I sliced the tomatoes and drained them on paper towels while I cooked the crust. I also added real bacon bits to the cheese/mayo mixture, it made it taste almost like a BLT, very tasty and my husband loved it. I've already shared it with others and they loved it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Made this today using a wheat flour crust. Used a combo of sharp cheddar and fontina cheese and put a thin layer of cheese on the crust before layering the tomatoes. I also added some chopped scallions. Used half mayo and half sour cream. The sour cream added a nice tanginess. My husband loved it and even my 3 year ate it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
l made this exactly as stated, except l formed it in a loaf pan - l just like cutting slices better than wedges. We enjoyed this, and it was a nice change from just a regular veggie side dish. Next time, l will make this with crisped bacon, for that realy BLT taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

How to Make Veggie Shepherd’s Pie

Learn how to make a meat-free shepherd's pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States