Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was a great recipe..the only reason i only gave it 4 stars is because i modified it a bit. I cooked the pie crust first until golden brown then added a layer of tomoates/onion/garlic powder, italian spices and salt and pepper then layered once more with the same. I used low-fat cheddar but reg. mayo and it cooked it as instructed and it came out perfect. I didn't even have any liquid in the bottom of the plate (i sliced the tomatoes and let then drin on the paper towel at least 10 minutes or so) We loved it! Can't wait to use summer tomotoes-I bet it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved this recipe, tried with regular mayo, again with a mix of soy mayo and regular but the 1st try was better. I found you NEED to let this sit much longer than recommended time and the pie really solidifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
8-16-11: Make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is absolutely delicious...will make often. Dislike people who rave about a recipe and then list all the changes they made. Now I am going to be one of them. After reading all the reviews could barely wait to make this. Prebaked pie crusts for 10 minutes at 350. Guess I sliced my tomatoes too thin so decided to just go ahead and chop them and the onions. I did let the tomatoes drain all afternoon in a colander. Everything else was the same as written...OMGoodness. So good I cannot even tell you. Sherrie, thank you. This was firm, no juices in bottom...just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Really good and simple. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Really enjoyed this as an appetiser and it was a great way to use Jersey tomatoes. I did not blanch them (not necessary in my opinion), but did let them drain for several minutes. I didn't use anything fat-free, but did lower the amount of mayo to just about 3/4 cup with the 4 oz. of cheddar cheese (which is the equivalent to 1 cup shredded). I used very large Jersey tomatoes so only used 1-1/2 which seemed good. I also used one med-large shallot sliced thin as my onion, and then cut one or two more times so that the onions were in smaller pieces. The mayo/cheese mix is easier to place on top if you use your fingers.....a little messy but the only way to apply it evenly. I let it cool approx. 20-30 min. and noticed that the first piece was a little runny, but the rest cut nicely like cutting a piece of pie. I would recommend making it enough ahead of time to allow for some cooling off time. Will definitely make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This dish was a hit! I sauted the onions first to insure they cooked all the way through. This dish is even better the second day warmed up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is really good. I added my own with olives, more onions , S/P and anchovies. I almost couldn't stop eating this pie til gone!!!! Next time, I will be adding some green bell peppers, more tomatoes and maybe some shrooms. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
We loved it. Very tasty. Thank you to all reviewers. From the advice of others. I got the Pilsbury crust and prebaked it for 12 min. I placed some cheese first on the crust. I chopped the onions and mixed them with regular mayo, cheese, chopped celery, one egg and seasonings. I cut up and put 6 pepperoni on a napkin and nuked for 30 sec then blended into the cheese and egg mix. I then placed chunky ripe tomato slices on top. I peeled them w/out blanching and drained out as much juice as possible. I baked for about 40 min. The texture was firm like a quiche and the flavor was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States