Tomato Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was very tasty and a great use of the plum tomatoes from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This was a great recipe..the only reason i only gave it 4 stars is because i modified it a bit. I cooked the pie crust first until golden brown then added a layer of tomoates/onion/garlic powder, italian spices and salt and pepper then layered once more with the same. I used low-fat cheddar but reg. mayo and it cooked it as instructed and it came out perfect. I didn't even have any liquid in the bottom of the plate (i sliced the tomatoes and let then drin on the paper towel at least 10 minutes or so) We loved it! Can't wait to use summer tomotoes-I bet it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
not very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I loved this recipe, tried with regular mayo, again with a mix of soy mayo and regular but the 1st try was better. I found you NEED to let this sit much longer than recommended time and the pie really solidifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
8-16-11: Make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This is absolutely delicious...will make often. Dislike people who rave about a recipe and then list all the changes they made. Now I am going to be one of them. After reading all the reviews could barely wait to make this. Prebaked pie crusts for 10 minutes at 350. Guess I sliced my tomatoes too thin so decided to just go ahead and chop them and the onions. I did let the tomatoes drain all afternoon in a colander. Everything else was the same as written...OMGoodness. So good I cannot even tell you. Sherrie, thank you. This was firm, no juices in bottom...just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, California, USA
Living In: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Really good and simple. Came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Really enjoyed this as an appetiser and it was a great way to use Jersey tomatoes. I did not blanch them (not necessary in my opinion), but did let them drain for several minutes. I didn't use anything fat-free, but did lower the amount of mayo to just about 3/4 cup with the 4 oz. of cheddar cheese (which is the equivalent to 1 cup shredded). I used very large Jersey tomatoes so only used 1-1/2 which seemed good. I also used one med-large shallot sliced thin as my onion, and then cut one or two more times so that the onions were in smaller pieces. The mayo/cheese mix is easier to place on top if you use your fingers.....a little messy but the only way to apply it evenly. I let it cool approx. 20-30 min. and noticed that the first piece was a little runny, but the rest cut nicely like cutting a piece of pie. I would recommend making it enough ahead of time to allow for some cooling off time. Will definitely make again for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This dish was a hit! I sauted the onions first to insure they cooked all the way through. This dish is even better the second day warmed up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joy
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This is really good. I added my own with olives, more onions , S/P and anchovies. I almost couldn't stop eating this pie til gone!!!! Next time, I will be adding some green bell peppers, more tomatoes and maybe some shrooms. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

How to Make Tomato Basil Crostini

This easy appetizer captures the freshest flavors of summer.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States