Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I really liked this! To keep the bottom of the crust from getting soggy brush egg whites on it and bake it alone first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
My family loved this one. I sliced my tomatoes and put them on a cooling rack over a sheet pan, salted them and let them sit for an hour to drain. Then I patted them down with dry paper towels. I served this at room temperature and everyone commented on how good this was. I had not one piece leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Very good. I would recomend pre-baking the pie crust 10 minutes or so...helps if the tomatoes are a little to watery (I even salted and drained them). The flavor was good, my husband thought it needed more heat. While I was prepping it, I was thinking some canned green chili peppers would probably be a good addition (will add next time). As for peeling the tomato's, I have put them in a hot water bath in the past. Did some research, and found that turning them over an open flame (gas oven) for about 20 seconds total (don't "cook" the skin) was awesome. Very easy to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I have made this twice in the past week. I sliced my tomatoes first and let them "drain" on towel-covered cookie sheet so juice didn't make my pie crust soggy. Also, baked pie crust for about 10 min. before layering ingredients and misted w/olive oil. Used fresh Thyme from herb garden. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
SO good! It's even better when the fresh tomatoes are in season. Make sure your tomatoes are seeded and drained really well or the crust gets gooey. We've made this for several years and just love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I substituted sour cream for the mayonnaise and pepperoni for the bacon. I also used shredded cheddar-jack cheese. Delicious--tasted like a thick, rich pizza. My husband ate half of this pie by himself! I did notice that it was a bit watery right out of the oven. I used a baster to siphon off the excess liquid after baking and had no trouble with sogginess after doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
A winner! You might try using Roma tomatoes to cut down on the wateriness because they don't usually have as much as regular round tomatoes. Of course because they're not as big, you would need more, between 6 and 8 depending on size. Loved it cold the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I had a hard time rating this recipe because it wasn't at all what I was expecting but it's all about taste and it gets five stars for that. Reading the other reviews I was under the impression this was going to taste like a deep dish pizza so I served as a main course. It was more like a good pile of tomatoes with cheese on top. I peeled, removed seeds and sliced. I let these drain for hours and even went through a half roll of paper towel blotting these every so often determined not to have watery pies. Water wasn't a problem but the bottom crust got so soggy that it didn't exist. I made one with bacon and one with pepperoni. Out of six people everyone preferred the pepperoni. everyone loved this but the only complaint was that it was not "filling" enough. I will make this again but use as a side or with garlic bread. Good way to use up tomatoes if you grow them in the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I discovered this recipe about four years ago when I started getting bumper crops of tomatoes and this is definitely one of my "go to" recipes to use them! Two things I recommend doing are briefly draining the tomato slices on paper towels to drain excess juice prior to putting them in the shell. *Also, prebaking the shell for 10 minutes helps prevent a soggy bottom due to the tomato juice that cooks out. Definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
We LOVED this recipe! I used mozzarella cheese, and fresh basil from my garden. I also used half of a jar of REAL BACON PIECES, since I did not have bacon to cook. I have emailed this to all my friends, and placed this recipe in my permanent file! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States