Tomato Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is really a wonderful recipe - the flavors are well-balanced and nicely spiced. It would be a terrific dish to serve for brunch or lunch. BUT, it has a serious structural flaw - the pie is so juicy that it falls apart when cut. This could be alleviated by using fleshier Roma tomatoes and deseeding them before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This was DELICIOUS! My family raved about it, will definitely be making this again. In reading the other reviews about baking the crust for about 10 minutes was a good idea, the crust was not real soggy because of this. Then when peeling the tomatoes, I put them in a pan of boiling water, only for a second and the skins came right off. I add more onions, basil and seasoning then it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
Really tasty. I should have read the other reviews first and drained my tomatoes and/or prebaked my crust, maybe with an eggwash, or added a cheese layer on the bottom, because the crust did get quite soggy. I have 2/3 of the pie left (only because it's just me), so I poured out as much liquid as I could, and I hope it firms up some as it cools. Very yummy, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife321

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
What a great pie! Something different that all my friends thought was great. Didn't change a thing. Took two pies to work and they vanished. Had to hand out the recipe. Oh, remember to seed the tomatoes. Adds to much liqiud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I can't imagine anything that would make this dish better than it is. I followed the other reviewer's suggestions- used roma tomatoes, well drained and prebaked the crust. The flavor of the fresh basil and bacon are incredible. This would make a grat brunch dish as it's similiar to a quiche. If my crust was soggy, I certaily didn't notice because I was too busy enjoying the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made this last night for dinner...used a Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust and put it in an 8" cake pan, pinching the edges. Used 3 large tomatoes, sliced Vidalia onion and Mexican shredded cheese mixed with shredded mozarella. Baked as directed and let sit for 2-3 min. to set before cutting. Although we had a smaller pie, it was filled to the top and delicious. My husband ate most of it! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I made this pie for dinner last night and it was a huge hit! The fresh basil in the recipe really did it for me! I had made a tomato pie in the past but it had lots of eggs in it and was more "custardy". This one was fresh and delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Fantastic and SO tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Tomato pie is wonderful! I've been making it for many years. Lightly salting the sliced tomatoes and draining for aprox 20 min is essential to good texture. A 10 minute prebake on the crust is also important. I also don't use scallions, but shallots for the milder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
I made this with some leftover tomatoes and wasn't really sure how it would go over. My son loved it and my husband ate over 1/2 the pie. I will make again for sure. Changes: Used salt & pepper and just a slight amount of cayenne, used mozzarella as topping, used vidalia onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States